Touched

Paperback | March 31, 1997

byScott Campbell

not yet rated|write a review
Robbie Young is an ordinary twelve-year-old boy about to drop a bombshell that will devastate his small town family. One day he rides his bike home after school, finds his mother in the kitchen making dinner, and speaks aloud the secret he's been keeping for a year, "Jerry Houseman's been touching me." Robbie has been molested and the Young family will never be the same. From that moment on, the novel unfolds with inexorable power. The story is narrated in four parts: first by Robbie's mother, then by Jerry Houseman himself, then by Houseman's wife Linda, and concluded by Robbie himself fifteen years later, when he has returned to town for a high school reunion. Each voice is remarkably persuasive and utterly convincing, and the result is a novel that is impossible to put down as it is impossible to forget.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$28.00

In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25

From Our Editors

It begins when 12-year-old Robbie Young comes home from the mall one late afternoon to tell his mother the secret he's been keeping for a year: "Jerry Houseman's been touching me". In the tradition of "Ordinary People" and "The Good Mother", here is a powerful and moving novel of a family shattered by crisis, a book which marks the deb...

From the Publisher

Robbie Young is an ordinary twelve-year-old boy about to drop a bombshell that will devastate his small town family. One day he rides his bike home after school, finds his mother in the kitchen making dinner, and speaks aloud the secret he's been keeping for a year, "Jerry Houseman's been touching me." Robbie has been molested and the ...

From the Jacket

Robbie Young is an ordinary twelve-year-old boy about to drop a bombshell that will devastate his small town family. One day he rides his bike home after school, finds his mother in the kitchen making dinner, and speaks aloud the secret he's been keeping for a year, "Jerry Houseman's been touching me." Robbie has been molested and the ...

Format:PaperbackDimensions:324 pages, 8.5 × 5.5 × 0.75 inPublished:March 31, 1997Publisher:Random House Publishing Group

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0553378228

ISBN - 13:9780553378221

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Touched

Reviews

Extra Content

From Our Editors

It begins when 12-year-old Robbie Young comes home from the mall one late afternoon to tell his mother the secret he's been keeping for a year: "Jerry Houseman's been touching me". In the tradition of "Ordinary People" and "The Good Mother", here is a powerful and moving novel of a family shattered by crisis, a book which marks the debut of a brilliant new voice in contemporary fiction