The Upside Of Irrationality: The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic at Work and at Home

Hardcover | September 19, 2013

byDr Dan Ariely

not yet rated|write a review

“Dan Ariely is a genius at understanding human behavior: no economist does a better job of uncovering and explaining the hidden reasons for the weird ways we act.” — James Surowiecki, author of The Wisdom of Crowds

Behavioral economist and New York Times bestselling author of Predictably Irrational Dan Ariely returns to offer a much-needed take on the irrational decisions that influence our dating lives, our workplace experiences, and our temptation to cheat in any and all areas. Fans of Freakonomics, Survival of the Sickest, and Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink and The Tipping Point will find many thought-provoking insights in The Upside of Irrationality.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$5.00 online
$25.99 list price
Out of stock online

From the Publisher

“Dan Ariely is a genius at understanding human behavior: no economist does a better job of uncovering and explaining the hidden reasons for the weird ways we act.” — James Surowiecki, author of The Wisdom of Crowds Behavioral economist and New York Times bestselling author of Predictably Irrational Dan Ariely returns to offer a much-ne...

From the Jacket

The provocative follow-up to the New York Times bestseller Predictably IrrationalWhy can large bonuses make CEOs less productive?How can confusing directions actually help us?Why is revenge so important to us?Why is there such a big difference between what we think will make us happy and what really makes us happy? In his groundbreakin...

Dan Ariely is the James B. Duke Professor of Psychology and Behavioral Economics at Duke University, and is the founder of the Center for Advanced Hindsight. His work has been featured in theNew York Times,Wall Street Journal,Washington Post,Boston Globe, and elsewhere. He lives in North Carolina with his family.
Format:HardcoverDimensions:352 pages, 9.5 × 6.5 × 1.19 inPublished:September 19, 2013Publisher:HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERSLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061995037

ISBN - 13:9780061995033

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Upside Of Irrationality: The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic at Work and at Home

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

"A fascinating romp through the science of decision-making that unmasks the ways that emotions, social norms, expectations, and context lead us astray." (Time magazine)