A Beginner's Guide To Acting English: The True Story Of A Family On The Run In A Foreign Country... England by Shappi KhorsandiA Beginner's Guide To Acting English: The True Story Of A Family On The Run In A Foreign Country... England by Shappi Khorsandi

A Beginner's Guide To Acting English: The True Story Of A Family On The Run In A Foreign Country…

byShappi Khorsandi

Paperback | August 9, 2010

Pricing and Purchase Info

$17.66 online 
$19.95 list price save 11%
Earn 88 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

HURRY, ONLY 3 LEFT!
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

Hilarious and heartwarming, this memoir is the story of growing up in a strange land where you don't speak the language, everyone smells like milk, and to top it off, the Ayatollah wants you and your family dead In the tradition of Nancy Mitford's "The Pursuit of Love" and Gerald Durrell's "My Family and Other Animals," comes a story of a young narrator in the midst of her eccentric family. But rather than landed gentry or bohemian travelers, it's a mad extended Iran clan who flee Tehran to 1980s Britain after the fall the Shah. Five year old Shappi and her beloved brother Peyvand arrive with their parents in London--all cold weather and strange food--without a word of English. If adapting to a new culture isn't troubling enough, it soon becomes clear that the Ayatollah's henchmen are in pursuit. With the help of MI5, Shappi's family go into hiding. So apart from checking under the family car for bombs every morning, Shappi's childhood is like any other kids--swings in the park, school plays, kiss-chase, and terrorists.
Title:A Beginner's Guide To Acting English: The True Story Of A Family On The Run In A Foreign Country…Format:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 7.79 × 5 × 0.81 inPublished:August 9, 2010Publisher:Random House UKLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0091924774

ISBN - 13:9780091924775

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews