A Beginner's Guide To Acting English: The True Story Of A Family On The Run In A Foreign Country…

Paperback | August 9, 2010

byShappi Khorsandi

not yet rated|write a review
Hilarious and heartwarming, this memoir is the story of growing up in a strange land where you don't speak the language, everyone smells like milk, and to top it off, the Ayatollah wants you and your family dead In the tradition of Nancy Mitford's "The Pursuit of Love" and Gerald Durrell's "My Family and Other Animals," comes a story of a young narrator in the midst of her eccentric family. But rather than landed gentry or bohemian travelers, it's a mad extended Iran clan who flee Tehran to 1980s Britain after the fall the Shah. Five year old Shappi and her beloved brother Peyvand arrive with their parents in London--all cold weather and strange food--without a word of English. If adapting to a new culture isn't troubling enough, it soon becomes clear that the Ayatollah's henchmen are in pursuit. With the help of MI5, Shappi's family go into hiding. So apart from checking under the family car for bombs every morning, Shappi's childhood is like any other kids--swings in the park, school plays, kiss-chase, and terrorists.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$14.99
$19.95 list price
Out of stock online

From the Publisher

Hilarious and heartwarming, this memoir is the story of growing up in a strange land where you don't speak the language, everyone smells like milk, and to top it off, the Ayatollah wants you and your family dead In the tradition of Nancy Mitford's "The Pursuit of Love" and Gerald Durrell's "My Family and Other Animals," comes a story o...

Format:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 7.79 × 5 × 0.81 inPublished:August 9, 2010Publisher:Random House UKLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0091924774

ISBN - 13:9780091924775

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of A Beginner's Guide To Acting English: The True Story Of A Family On The Run In A Foreign Country... England

Reviews