A Certain Smile: A Novel

Paperback | October 15, 2011

byFRANçOISE SAGAN

not yet rated|write a review

Françoise Sagan is best known for her first novel, Bonjour Tristesse, which caused a scandal when she first published it at the age of eighteen in 1953. But her second novel, A Certain Smile, less shocking and more psychologically convincing, was preferred by many critics.  Like Bonjour Tristesse, this story is set in Paris in the 1950s and told by a young student bored by her law books, restless and curious about love and sex.  She is fond of her loyal boyfriend, but he, too, bores her.  His worldly uncle strikes her as more exciting, appealingly risky and forbidden. Frank and spontaneous, vulnerable and cruel, thoughtless and insightful, Sagan's young narrator explores such perennial themes as unrequited love and the precarious balance of irrational emotions and self-restraint.

This edition includes a new foreword by Diane Johnson, author of the best-selling novels Le Divorce and L’Affaire.
 
“The second book is now out, and so is the verdict. Sagan’s novel Un Certain Sourire, written in two months, is the new literary sensation of Paris.”—Time
 
“Miss Sagan is a technician of the highest order, working with exceptional economy and elegance in the tradition of Colette and Benjamin Constant.”—Atlantic
 
 
“The reader is given the feeling of having opened a young girl’s intimate diary by mistake. But whoever put such a diary down?—especially when the author is as sensitive, experienced, gifted and freshly talented as Mlle. Sagan!”—San Francisco Examiner
 
“[Sagan’s] style is honest, direct, and her dialogue true. But for her sake let’s hold back those invidious comparisons. Colette indeed! She might turn out to be Sagan.”—Saturday Review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.22 online
$18.50 list price (save 12%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

Françoise Sagan is best known for her first novel, Bonjour Tristesse, which caused a scandal when she first published it at the age of eighteen in 1953. But her second novel, A Certain Smile, less shocking and more psychologically convincing, was preferred by many critics.  Like Bonjour Tristesse, this story is set in Paris in the 1950...

Françoise Sagan (1935–2004) was a French playwright, screenwriter and novelist whose works have been translated into many languages. She is the author of several books, including That Mad Ache and Bonjour Tristesse, for which she gained quick literary stardom upon publishing at the age of eighteen.

other books by FRANçOISE SAGAN

Bonjour Tristesse: A Novel
Bonjour Tristesse: A Novel

Paperback|Jun 17 2008

$14.64 online$15.99list price(save 8%)
BONJOUR TRISTESSE -NE
BONJOUR TRISTESSE -NE

Paperback|May 6 2009

$8.50

Je ne renie rien
Je ne renie rien

Mass Market Paperback|May 20 2015

$11.95

see all books by FRANçOISE SAGAN
Format:PaperbackDimensions:136 pages, 8 × 5.25 × 0.4 inPublished:October 15, 2011Publisher:University Of Chicago PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0226733475

ISBN - 13:9780226733470

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of A Certain Smile: A Novel

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Françoise Sagan writes in the best French tradition, with real economy and restraint. . . . Higher praise no writer about love deserves.”