A Christmas Gift

Paperback | November 3, 2014

byRuby Jackson

not yet rated|write a review

The third in a series of books featuring four young women whose lives will be forever changed by WWII. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn.As the daughter of the local cinema manager, Sally Brewer has always dreamed of stardom. When she gets offered a theatre job in London, any fancy notions she has are quickly dashed when faced with the reality of long hours with no prospect of a speaking part.But all of this goes out of Sally's mind once the nightly hail of German bombs start to rain down on London. She joins the newly-formed ENSA, the Entertainments National Service Association and is soon raising morale all over the bombed-out city - there is little time for love.One night, Sally discovers a valuable ring sewn into the lining of a cloak. Intrigued, she tracks down the owner - a Naval Officer called Jonathan - but they barely have time to get to know each other before he is recalled to sea. Then Sally gets the terrible news that his ship has been destroyed. With only the ring to remember him by, can Sally face the future without the man she loves?

Pricing and Purchase Info

$12.99

In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
HURRY, ONLY 3 LEFT!
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

The third in a series of books featuring four young women whose lives will be forever changed by WWII. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn.As the daughter of the local cinema manager, Sally Brewer has always dreamed of stardom. When she gets offered a theatre job in London, any fancy notions she has are quickly dashed when faced with the r...

RUBY JACKSONand her husband live in a small village in Surrey. Ruby, who worked for an international charity, now writes full time, with a particular interest in how women cope under pressure. When she's not writing she is probably in their large garden coping with weeds.

other books by Ruby Jackson

Finding Freedom: The Untold Story of Joshua Glover, Runaway Slave
Finding Freedom: The Untold Story of Joshua Glover, Run...

Hardcover|May 1 2007

$22.20 online$24.95list price(save 11%)
A Historical Study of Christian Education: Past - Present - Future
A Historical Study of Christian Education: Past - Prese...

Kobo ebook|Sep 20 2013

$5.39 online$6.99list price(save 22%)
Adam Smith 44 Success Facts - Everything you need to know about Adam Smith
Adam Smith 44 Success Facts - Everything you need to kn...

Kobo ebook|May 23 2014

$19.29 online$24.99list price(save 22%)
see all books by Ruby Jackson
Format:PaperbackDimensions:400 pages, 8 × 5.13 × 0.98 inPublished:November 3, 2014Publisher:Harpercollins (uk)Language:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0007506317

ISBN - 13:9780007506316

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of A Christmas Gift

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mrs, Great book love this writer really is good, it's hard to put down and find myself wanting to keep reading until it is finished
Date published: 2015-01-20

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Amazing five star reviews from Amazon:""Churchill's Angels by Ruby Jackson for me was a wonderful read and therefore would recommend this marvellous book to anyone who loves not only a good read but one which will keep your attention until you reach the last page."" —Petra ""book addict!!!""""Churchill's Angels by Ruby Jackson is a great book! Ms. Jackson gives the reader great characters and an excellent story line. Any fan of wartime books will truly enjoy this book!"" —M. E. Newell""I loved this book – cannot wait for the next one in the series. I really felt that I was there living with the characters. The historical detail is brilliant."" —S. Knight ""Bookworm""""Love, new challenges, death and humour battle on every page, ensuring that our attention is held from beginning to end. Can't wait for the next in the series!"" —J. Harper ""Jenny Harper""