A Curious Tale Of The In-between by Lauren DeStefanoA Curious Tale Of The In-between by Lauren DeStefano

A Curious Tale Of The In-between

byLauren DeStefano

Hardcover | September 1, 2015

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.82 online 
$19.99 list price
Earn 99 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

From New York Times bestselling author Lauren DeStefano comes a delightful tale of a girl who can talk to ghosts that's perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Holly Black.

Pram Bellamy is special--she can talk to ghosts. She doesn't have too many friends amongst the living, but that's all right. She has her books, she has her aunts, and she has her best friend, the ghostly Felix.

Then Pram meets Clarence, a boy from school who has also lost a parent and is looking for answers. Together they arrive at the door of the mysterious Lady Savant, who promises to help. But this spiritualist knows the true nature of Pram's power, and what she has planned is more terrifying than any ghost.

New York Times bestselling author Lauren DeStefano is beloved by critics and readers alike, and her middle grade debut is lyrical, evocative and not to be missed.

Lauren DeStefano is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of The Internment Chronicles and The Chemical Garden trilogy, which includes Wither, Fever, and Sever. She earned her BA in English with a concentration in creative writing from Albertus Magnus College in Connecticut.LaurenDeStefano.com @LaurenDeStefanolaurendestef...
Loading
Title:A Curious Tale Of The In-betweenFormat:HardcoverDimensions:240 pages, 8.58 × 6.97 × 0.94 inPublished:September 1, 2015Publisher:Bloomsbury USALanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:161963600X

ISBN - 13:9781619636002

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Memorable Ghost Story! Raised by her two aunts in a two-hundred-year-old colonial house that also functions as a senior's home, Pram Bellamy has never had an ordinary childhood. She's a source of entertainment for the lonely elders, has a deep love for the works of Shakespeare, and her best friend is a ghost named Felix. Aunt Nan and Aunt Dee have never quite understood Pram's eccentrics, but they've always done their best to protect and shelter her. Pram has always felt she's both living and dead, not exactly a normal thought for a girl who's nearly twelve. But then again, strange is Pram's normal. For as long as she can remember, she's always been able to interact with ghosts, but never the spirit of her mother. Unlike the reader, Pram doesn't know the tragic circumstances of her mother's death, only that she had been young, beautiful, and sad. When Pram meets Clarence at school, they instantly feel a kinship to each other. They both understand what it's like to lose a loved one, to experience grief and longing for someone who's no longer living. Clarence became withdrawn and distant when his mother passed away a year ago, but Pram brings light back into his world. Aunt Nan and Aunt Dee are just relieved their niece has finally made a friend who's her own age. But trouble soon arrives in the form of Lady Savant, a mysterious traveling spiritualist who claims she can communicate with Pram's mother's spirit, which immediately leaves Pram wary. And for a good reason. Lady Savant knows Pram is a very special girl, and she has sinister plans to use Pram's gift to see ghosts. Lauren DeStefano's middle grade debut A Curious Tale of the In-Between is a new favourite to add to my bookshelf and re-read again in the future. I absolutely loved the book! Delightfully charming, yet also darkly whimsical, A Curious Tale of the In-Between is a memorable ghost story filled with tender moments of friendship and family. There are difficult themes such as suicide, death, and abuse, but Lauren DeStefano has touched upon these subjects in a thoughtful, meaningful way that perfectly complements the paranormal aspects of the novel.
Date published: 2015-09-14

Editorial Reviews

"Readers will be hooked from the first line of this lyrical and suspenseful mystery/fantasy (part thriller too) of a brave and compassionate girl. . . . DeStefano artfully concocts a moving and multilayered tale that is an effective mix of genres and tones, at times contemplative and philosophical yet also macabre and psychologically sophisticated. Love, loss, and hope are at the heart of this exciting read." -Kirkus Reviews"The perfect book to hand to readers looking for the mysterious and spooky." -Booklist"DeStefano creates a beguiling world through haunting images and descriptions. . . An eerie, moving story about 'that murky place between this world and the one that comes after it.'" -Publishers Weekly"Startlingly dark. . . Sophisticated readers will appreciate the vivid characters with rich internal lives. Readers who enjoyed A.J. Paquette's Rules for Ghosting and Grave Images by Jenny Goebel will want to give this title a try." -School Library Journal"The voice of this dark but often funny novel is as pragmatic as Pram, matter-of-factly acknowledging truths its characters need to know, even when those truths are unpleasant. . . Fans of Holly Black's Doll Bones may well enjoy this creepy, character-based tale." -The Horn Book"A harrowing debut. . . . DeStefano has an observant eye." -Publishers Weekly on WITHER"A concoction of tension and love with a cliff-hanger ending." -School Library Journal on PERFECT RUIN: THE INTERNMENT CHRONICLES BOOK 1"DeStefano has created a perfect storm--intertwining plot, characters, and setting beautifully. . . . This is a page-turner, and waiting for the next book will be hard, hard, hard." -Booklist on PERFECT RUIN: THE INTERNMENT CHRONICLES BOOK 1