A Curious Tale Of The In-between

Hardcover | September 1, 2015

byLauren DeStefano

not yet rated|write a review

An exquisite middle grade debut about a girl who befriends ghosts from acclaimed New York Times bestselling author Lauren DeStefano.
     
Pram Bellamy is special-she can talk to ghosts.  She doesn't have too many friends amongst the living, but that's all right.  She has her books, she has her aunts, and she has her best friend, the ghostly Felix.
     Then Pram meets Clarence, a boy from school who has also lost a parent and is looking for answers.  Together they arrive at the door of the mysterious Lady Savant, who promises to help.  But this spiritualist knows the true nature of Pram's power, and what she has planned is more terrifying than any ghost. 
     Lauren DeStefano is that rare author beloved by critics and readers alike, and her middle grade debut promises to appeal in just the same way.  Fans of Neil Gaiman and Sheila Turnage won't want to miss this haunting, gripping story of the search for friendship and family.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$17.83 online
$19.99 list price (save 10%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

An exquisite middle grade debut about a girl who befriends ghosts from acclaimed New York Times bestselling author Lauren DeStefano.      Pram Bellamy is special-she can talk to ghosts.  She doesn't have too many friends amongst the living, but that's all right.  She has her books, she has her aunts, and she has her best friend, the gh...

LAUREN DeSTAFANO is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of The Internment Chronicles and The Chemical Garden trilogy, which includes Wither, Fever, and Sever. She earned her BA in English with a concentration in creative writing from Albertus Magnus College in Connecticut.  Visit her online at www.LaurenDeStefano.com, o...

other books by Lauren DeStefano

The Glass Spare
The Glass Spare

Hardcover|Oct 24 2017

$21.99

Fever
Fever

Paperback|Feb 12 2013

$11.56 online$11.99list price
Broken Crowns
Broken Crowns

Paperback|Feb 28 2017

$16.88 online$17.99list price(save 6%)
see all books by Lauren DeStefano
Format:HardcoverDimensions:240 pages, 8.58 × 6.97 × 0.94 inPublished:September 1, 2015Publisher:Bloomsbury USALanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:161963600X

ISBN - 13:9781619636002

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of A Curious Tale Of The In-between

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

"Readers will be hooked from the first line of this lyrical and suspenseful mystery/fantasy (part thriller too) of a brave and compassionate girl. . . . DeStefano artfully concocts a moving and multilayered tale that is an effective mix of genres and tones, at times contemplative and philosophical yet also macabre and psychologically sophisticated. Love, loss, and hope are at the heart of this exciting read." -Kirkus Reviews"The perfect book to hand to readers looking for the mysterious and spooky." -Booklist"DeStefano creates a beguiling world through haunting images and descriptions. . . An eerie, moving story about 'that murky place between this world and the one that comes after it.'" -Publishers Weekly"Startlingly dark. . . Sophisticated readers will appreciate the vivid characters with rich internal lives. Readers who enjoyed A.J. Paquette's Rules for Ghosting and Grave Images by Jenny Goebel will want to give this title a try." -School Library Journal"The voice of this dark but often funny novel is as pragmatic as Pram, matter-of-factly acknowledging truths its characters need to know, even when those truths are unpleasant. . . Fans of Holly Black's Doll Bones may well enjoy this creepy, character-based tale." -The Horn Book"A harrowing debut. . . . DeStefano has an observant eye." -Publishers Weekly on WITHER"A concoction of tension and love with a cliff-hanger ending." -School Library Journal on PERFECT RUIN: THE INTERNMENT CHRONICLES BOOK 1"DeStefano has created a perfect storm--intertwining plot, characters, and setting beautifully. . . . This is a page-turner, and waiting for the next book will be hard, hard, hard." -Booklist on PERFECT RUIN: THE INTERNMENT CHRONICLES BOOK 1