A Daring Sacrifice

A Daring Sacrifice

Perfect | March 1, 2016

byJody Hedlund

not yet rated|write a review

In a reverse twist on the Robin Hood story, a young medieval maiden stands up for the rights of the mistreated, stealing from the rich to give to the poor. All the while, she fights against her cruel uncle who has taken over the land that is rightfully hers. Forced to live in the woods and hide with the poor people she's grown to love, she works to save and protect them, but she never anticipates falling in love with the wealthy knight who represents all she's come to despise.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$15.74 online
$15.99 list price
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25

A Daring Sacrifice

Perfect | March 1, 2016
In stock online Not available in stores
$15.74 online $15.99

From the Publisher

In a reverse twist on the Robin Hood story, a young medieval maiden stands up for the rights of the mistreated, stealing from the rich to give to the poor. All the while, she fights against her cruel uncle who has taken over the land that is rightfully hers. Forced to live in the woods and hide with the poor people she's grown to love,...

Format:PerfectDimensions:224 pages, 8 × 5.2 × 0.6 inPublished:March 1, 2016Publisher:ZondervanLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0310749379

ISBN - 13:9780310749370

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of A Daring Sacrifice

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Read I loved this book right from the first page until the last. It was suspenseful, thrilling and heart stopping. Be prepared to lose sleep, because you won’t be able to put it down!
Date published: 2016-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An awesome remake of a classic tale! First of all, isn't that a lovely cover? That caught my interest right off. Then there was the fact that is is a remake of the classic Robin Hood story. Very cool. It lives up to both the greatness of the original tale and the cover, I'm pleased to say! Julianna is a wonderful heroine. She's not perfect but you are definitely rooting for her right from the get-go. She is daring and fearless as a huntress and bandit providing for her band of people hiding in the forest but she's not without her longings and insecurities. As a book geared to a YA audience I wasn't sure if I would find this up to the author's writing level from previous books (I haven't read the first in the series yet, but I will!) but I didn't find it was simplified or more written differently as sometimes can be the case. In fact, I would recommend this book to an older teen and up audience as there is somewhat gory torture details, true to the time, but maybe not appropriate for tweens/young teens, and also because of the amount of romance. That could have been cut back just a little. It manages not to get in the way of the action, which starts on page one and continues all the way through. The banter between Julianna and Collin is fun and lightens up the storyline. Great story, I highly recommend it! I received this book from Zondervan and BookLook for the purpose of an honest review. My opinion is my own.
Date published: 2016-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome tale! This is the first book I've read by Jody Hedlund and I gotta say . . . I LOVED IT! I also have to admit I'm a bit biased because the heroine has red hair (or strawberry locks as it's referred to). tee hee ;-) Seriously, this book is a great read. Had me from the beginning and kept me turning the pages to the very end. It's book #2 in the An Uncertain Choice series. It's a female take on the Robin Hood story and has a great plot, lots of actions, strong characters, and a romantic thread spun throughout. Also, it's not just for teens you know. Can't wait to read another one by Ms. Hedlund. I give A Daring Sacrifice five arrows. It will keep you looking over your shoulder, wondering when the next shot is coming!
Date published: 2016-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great book by Jody This book tells the story of Juliana and Lord Collin. This is book 2 in An Uncertain Choice Series. Juliana is also known as the Cloaked Bandit who steals from the rich and gives it to the poor. Juliana's father had been a Lord until her uncle had him killed and Juliana was forced into hiding so she would not die too. She lived with the poor people in the forest and caves on what was her father's land. Juliana dresses has a boy so no one knows who she is and she is also a very good archer. When she robs Lord Collin, he realizes that it is a girl and notices her red hair and he figures out that it is Juliana who he had meet when they were both younger. Juliana ends up getting hurt so Lord Collin takes her to his estate to recover and he challenges her to sty for a week in hopes that she would leave her thieving ways and become a proper lady once more. When she agrees, she challenges Collin to spend a week in the woods to see how she has been living. Juliana's uncle finds out that she is still alive and comes and finds her and takes her back to his estate and starts hurting her when he finds out that she is the Cloaked Bandit. Lord Collin and his men manage to rescue her and the men she lived with and he took them back to his land and estate. During this time Juliana and Collin fall in love with each other. I don't want to give anymore away so go and get a copy for yourself to find out everything that happens. I received a copy of the book from Zondervan and Jody in exchange for an honest review. Keep up the good work Jody and looking forward to reading more of your books.
Date published: 2016-03-22

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Historical fiction author Jody Hedlund writes her second young adult novel about a fourteenth-century young woman living an unconventional life.In A Daring Sacrifice, Juliana Wessex is the rightful ruler of Wessex. But the current Lord Wessex (her uncle) believes she died three years ago when her father lost his life. Juliana hides in the forest and steals to provide a livelihood for the peasants on her land, impoverished by her uncle's harsh rule. It is a life filled with risks and danger, and she struggles with the justification of her actions.When she is forced to flee Wessex after escaping capture, Juliana makes the mistake of trying to rob Colin Goodrich, who recognizes Juliana by her red hair. Colin takes her to his castle after she is injured and introduces her as a distant cousin. But her uncle discovers her presence. To what lengths will her uncle go to keep Wessex for himself? Who makes the daring sacrifice?Different text fonts indicate Juliana's and Colin's points of view. The spiritual element is evident but not heavy-handed; Colin and Juliana ask for God's leading and try to live godly lives, which is especially hard for Juliana since she steals from the nobility.Filled with descriptive narrative and endearing characters, A Daring Sacrifice is an entertaining read-except for the necessary violence in the fighting scenes. Its believable plot has enough twists in the last third of the book to keep the reader up late!Fans of Lisa Bergren's River of Time series, Dina Sleiman's Valiant Hearts series, and Melanie Dickerson's medieval young adult books will also enjoy Hedlund's medieval trilogy. Readers may want to read Hedlund's An Uncertain Choice (reviewed in Christian Library Journal, Jan/Feb/Mar/Apr 2015). A third book is in the works.Recommended for teen collections in public libraries and school libraries. Carol R. Gehringer, worthy2read.wordpress.com