A Daring Sacrifice

A Daring Sacrifice

Perfect | March 1, 2016

byJody Hedlund

not yet rated|write a review

In a reverse twist on the Robin Hood story, a young medieval maiden stands up for the rights of the mistreated, stealing from the rich to give to the poor. All the while, she fights against her cruel uncle who has taken over the land that is rightfully hers. Forced to live in the woods and hide with the poor people she's grown to love, she works to save and protect them, but she never anticipates falling in love with the wealthy knight who represents all she's come to despise.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$15.73 online
$15.99 list price
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25

A Daring Sacrifice

Perfect | March 1, 2016
In stock online Not available in stores
$15.73 online $15.99

From the Publisher

In a reverse twist on the Robin Hood story, a young medieval maiden stands up for the rights of the mistreated, stealing from the rich to give to the poor. All the while, she fights against her cruel uncle who has taken over the land that is rightfully hers. Forced to live in the woods and hide with the poor people she's grown to love,...

Format:PerfectDimensions:224 pages, 8 × 5.2 × 0.6 inPublished:March 1, 2016Publisher:ZondervanLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0310749379

ISBN - 13:9780310749370

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of A Daring Sacrifice

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Historical fiction author Jody Hedlund writes her second young adult novel about a fourteenth-century young woman living an unconventional life.In A Daring Sacrifice, Juliana Wessex is the rightful ruler of Wessex. But the current Lord Wessex (her uncle) believes she died three years ago when her father lost his life. Juliana hides in the forest and steals to provide a livelihood for the peasants on her land, impoverished by her uncle's harsh rule. It is a life filled with risks and danger, and she struggles with the justification of her actions.When she is forced to flee Wessex after escaping capture, Juliana makes the mistake of trying to rob Colin Goodrich, who recognizes Juliana by her red hair. Colin takes her to his castle after she is injured and introduces her as a distant cousin. But her uncle discovers her presence. To what lengths will her uncle go to keep Wessex for himself? Who makes the daring sacrifice?Different text fonts indicate Juliana's and Colin's points of view. The spiritual element is evident but not heavy-handed; Colin and Juliana ask for God's leading and try to live godly lives, which is especially hard for Juliana since she steals from the nobility.Filled with descriptive narrative and endearing characters, A Daring Sacrifice is an entertaining read-except for the necessary violence in the fighting scenes. Its believable plot has enough twists in the last third of the book to keep the reader up late!Fans of Lisa Bergren's River of Time series, Dina Sleiman's Valiant Hearts series, and Melanie Dickerson's medieval young adult books will also enjoy Hedlund's medieval trilogy. Readers may want to read Hedlund's An Uncertain Choice (reviewed in Christian Library Journal, Jan/Feb/Mar/Apr 2015). A third book is in the works.Recommended for teen collections in public libraries and school libraries. Carol R. Gehringer, worthy2read.wordpress.com