A Darkness Strange And Lovely

Paperback | June 24, 2014

bySusan Dennard

not yet rated|write a review

Perfect for fans of Libba Bray's The Diviners and Cassandra Clare's The Infernal Devices series, this spellbinding sequel to Something Strange and Deadly delivers a mix of supernatural forces and intense romance, set against the enchanting backdrop of nineteenth-century Paris.

With her brother dead and her mother insane, Eleanor Fitt is alone. Even the Spirit-Hunters—Joseph, Jie, and the handsome Daniel—have fled to Paris. So when Eleanor hears the vicious barking of hounds and sees haunting yellow eyes, she fears that the Dead, and the necromancer Marcus, are after her.

To escape, Eleanor boards a steamer bound for France. There she meets Oliver, a young man who claims to have known her brother. But Oliver harbors a dangerous secret involving necromancy and black magic that entices Eleanor beyond words. If she can resist him, she'll be fine. But when she arrives in Paris, she finds that the Dead have taken over, and there's a whole new evil lurking. And she is forced to make a deadly decision that will go against everything the Spirit-Hunters stand for.

In Paris, there's a price for this darkness strange and lovely, and it may have Eleanor paying with her life.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$12.50

In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

Perfect for fans of Libba Bray's The Diviners and Cassandra Clare's The Infernal Devices series, this spellbinding sequel to Something Strange and Deadly delivers a mix of supernatural forces and intense romance, set against the enchanting backdrop of nineteenth-century Paris.With her brother dead and her mother insane, Eleanor Fitt is...

From the Jacket

Darkness has come to the City of Light. . . .After helping the Spirit-Hunters save Philadelphia from the walking Dead, Eleanor Fitt must now face the things she couldn't stop: her brother's death, her mother's deteriorating health, and the sting of unrequited love. But when she encounters the necromancer Marcus again, she must seek the...

Susan Dennard is a writer turned marine biologist turned writer again. The Something Strange and Deadly trilogy is her debut. Among the traits she shares with her heroine Eleanor are a weakness for Shakespeare quotes, a healthy appetite for baked goods, and an insatiable curiosity. Sadly, Susan does not get to wear a corset or wave a p...

other books by Susan Dennard

Truthwitch: A Witchlands Novel
Truthwitch: A Witchlands Novel

Paperback|Jan 10 2017

$11.21 online$13.99list price(save 19%)
Windwitch: A Witchlands Novel
Windwitch: A Witchlands Novel

Hardcover|Jan 10 2017

$24.01 online$26.99list price(save 11%)
Something Strange And Deadly
Something Strange And Deadly

Paperback|Jun 25 2013

$11.47 online$12.50list price(save 8%)
see all books by Susan Dennard
Format:PaperbackDimensions:432 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.97 inPublished:June 24, 2014Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062083309

ISBN - 13:9780062083302

Customer Reviews of A Darkness Strange And Lovely

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“A wonderfully brisk pace sweeps readers into an intriguing mystery. Eleanor serves as a highly entertaining guide and readers will find themselves settling in among the undead just fine.”