A Darkness Strange And Lovely by Susan DennardA Darkness Strange And Lovely by Susan Dennard

A Darkness Strange And Lovely

bySusan Dennard

Paperback | July 11, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$11.26 online 
$12.50 list price save 9%
Earn 56 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

New York Times bestselling author Susan Dennard delivers a mix of supernatural forces and intense romance in this spellbinding sequel to Something Strange and Deadly—now with a gorgeous new cover! Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare's Infernal Devices series.

With her brother dead and her mother unwell, Eleanor Fitt is alone. Even the Spirit-Hunters—Joseph, Jie, and the handsome Daniel—have fled to Paris. So when Eleanor hears the vicious barking of hounds and sees haunting yellow eyes, she fears that the Dead, and the necromancer Marcus, are after her.

To escape, Eleanor boards a steamer bound for France. There she meets Oliver, a young man who claims to have known her brother. But Oliver harbors a dangerous secret involving necromancy and black magic that entices Eleanor. If she can resist him, she'll be fine. When she arrives in Paris, she finds a whole new evil lurking—forcing her to make a deadly decision that will go against everything the Spirit-Hunters stand for.

In Paris, there's a price for this darkness strange and lovely, and it may have Eleanor paying with her life.

Susan Dennard is a writer turned marine biologist turned writer again. She is the New York Times bestselling author of the Witchlands series, which began with Truthwitch, as well as the Something Strange and Deadly trilogy, her debut. She lives in the Midwest. You can visit her online at www.susandennard.com or on Twitter @stdennard.
Loading
Title:A Darkness Strange And LovelyFormat:PaperbackDimensions:432 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.97 inPublished:July 11, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062658166

ISBN - 13:9780062658166

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Full of intrigue and romance, this stunningly crafted story will take you to another place and time you will not want to leave.
Date published: 2016-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Story Full of intrigue and romance, this stunningly crafted story will take you to another place and time you will not want to leave.
Date published: 2016-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Darkness Strange and Lovely Great read. Strong characters and exciting plot.
Date published: 2014-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A sequel that delivers! At the end of Something Strange and Deadly, Eleanor is left in a pretty dismal state. Sure the walking dead they battled have been banished, but her brother is dead, her mother is slightly insane and the Spirit Hunters have left her behind. When A Darkness Strange and Lovely opens, we find things haven’t improved too much for her. She’s had to sell most of their belongings to pay for her mother’s medical care, she’s still very much alone and worst of all she thinks Marcus has returned. What’s a girl to do? Go to Paris and find Daniel The Spirit Hunters of course! Can I start off by saying that I love that this book takes place in Paris. Not that there was anything wrong with Philadelphia by any means – but it’s PARIS. Who doesn’t love a novel set in Paris? Especially old-timey Paris with carriages and hot air balloons and people getting all dressed up for parties and dinners. Susan Dennard does such a fantastic job with the descriptions. I really felt like I was there. So much so, that when I was done the book I started casually looking at flights to Paris because I wanted to go “back” so badly. I was also really happy to see that Eleanor hasn’t really changed. She has been through hell and back but she is just as tough, and brave and head strong as she was before. It’s going to sound weird but she kind of reminds me of Barbara Gordon (a.k.a Batgirl/Oracle). They both fight for what they believe is right, they both struggle with something darker and they both to cope with certain physical handicaps. Eleanor in this book is a lot more lonely and she’s a lot more tempted by necromancy but at her core she is still the same person and I appreciated that Dennard kept her so true to character. Also I loved all the food! Eleanor is a girl after my own heart. There’s a scene where the other woman at the table only has half a pastry, whereas Eleanor’s plate is full. Her thought process here is something that I have experienced exactly and I loved it. When Eleanor departs for Paris, she makes the acquaintance of a new young man – Oliver, who claims to have known her brother. As soon as he appeared the love triangle alarm started blaring in my head, but I am happy to report that it was a false alarm. There is NO LOVE TRIANGLE!! And based on certain hints that were dropped, there won’t be in the next book either - at least not between Eleanor-Daniel-Oliver. And speaking of Daniel – *swoons* – he’s back and just as frustrating and gorgeous as ever. I loved that their relationship took a back burner to the main action, but the tension was always there. It kept you on edge and cheering for them, but didn’t get in the way of the story. (I would have liked a little more kissing though!) Recommendation: Once again Susan Dennard has written a book that I absolutely loved reading a devoured in a single sitting. She writes great (and diverse) characters, beautiful settings and well woven plots. A Darkness Strange and Lovely is a sequel that delivers. The whole Something Strange and Deadly series is a must read to get your steampunk, zombie fix – and trust me you need that fix!
Date published: 2013-08-09

Editorial Reviews

“A wonderfully brisk pace sweeps readers into an intriguing mystery. Eleanor serves as a highly entertaining guide and readers will find themselves settling in among the undead just fine.”