A Dedicated Man by Peter Robinson

A Dedicated Man

byPeter Robinson

Mass Market Paperback | November 9, 1999

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$9.99

Earn 50 plum® points

Out of stock online

Not available in stores

about

New York Times bestselling and Edgar Award-winning author Peter Robinson delivers a compelling and chilling story of evil in the most unexpected places—perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo and Ian Rankin.

A dedicated man is dead in the wild outdoors—a former university professor, wealthy historian and archaeologist who loved his adopted village. It is a particularly heinous slaying, considering the esteem in which the victim, Harry Steadman, was held by his neighbors and colleagues—by everyone, it seems, except the one person who bludgeoned the life out of the respected scholar and left him half-buried in a farmer's field.

Detective Chief Inspector Alan Banks left the violence of London behind for what he hoped would be the peaceful life of a country policeman. But the brutality of Steadman's murder only reinforces one ugly, indisputable truth: Evil can flourish in even the most beautiful of settings. There are dangerous secrets hidden in the history of this remote community that have already led to one death. And Banks will have to plumb a dark and shocking local past to find his way to a killer before yesterday's sins cause more blood to be shed.

A Dedicated Man is a riveting, fascinating, and thoroughly thrilling novel of suspense.

About The Author

Peter Robinson was born in Castleford, Yorkshire, in 1950. He received his B.A. Honours Degree in English Literature from the University of Leeds, moved to Canada, and went on to earn his M.A. in English and Creative Writing from the University of Windsor and a Ph.D. in English from York University. His first novel, Gallows View, publi...
Sleeping In The Ground
Sleeping In The Ground

by Peter Robinson

$26.65$29.95

Pre-order online

Not yet available in stores

Children Of The Revolution
Children Of The Revolution

by Peter Robinson

$8.00$29.95

Out of stock online

Available in stores

When The Music's Over
When The Music's Over

by Peter Robinson

$19.19$21.00

In stock online

Available in stores

Shop this author

Details & Specs

Title:A Dedicated ManFormat:Mass Market PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 6.75 × 4.19 × 0.88 inPublished:November 9, 1999Publisher:HarperCollins

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0380716453

ISBN - 13:9780380716456

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of A Dedicated Man

Reviews

Extra Content

From Our Editors

When a well-liked, well-respected former university professor is bludgeoned to death in his beloved, adopted village in Yorkshire Dales, Detective Chief Inspector Alan Banks must sift through dark secrets to solve this seemingly motiveless murder. Reprint

Editorial Reviews

“Stunningly complex and intricately plotted....Peter Robinson fools and entertains me with every twist.”