A Dedicated Man by Peter RobinsonA Dedicated Man by Peter Robinson

A Dedicated Man

byPeter Robinson

Mass Market Paperback | November 9, 1999

Pricing and Purchase Info

$9.99

Earn 50 plum® points

Out of stock online

Not available in stores

about

New York Times bestselling and Edgar Award-winning author Peter Robinson delivers a compelling and chilling story of evil in the most unexpected places—perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo and Ian Rankin.

A dedicated man is dead in the wild outdoors—a former university professor, wealthy historian and archaeologist who loved his adopted village. It is a particularly heinous slaying, considering the esteem in which the victim, Harry Steadman, was held by his neighbors and colleagues—by everyone, it seems, except the one person who bludgeoned the life out of the respected scholar and left him half-buried in a farmer's field.

Detective Chief Inspector Alan Banks left the violence of London behind for what he hoped would be the peaceful life of a country policeman. But the brutality of Steadman's murder only reinforces one ugly, indisputable truth: Evil can flourish in even the most beautiful of settings. There are dangerous secrets hidden in the history of this remote community that have already led to one death. And Banks will have to plumb a dark and shocking local past to find his way to a killer before yesterday's sins cause more blood to be shed.

A Dedicated Man is a riveting, fascinating, and thoroughly thrilling novel of suspense.

Peter Robinson was born in Castleford, Yorkshire, in 1950. He received his B.A. Honours Degree in English Literature from the University of Leeds, moved to Canada, and went on to earn his M.A. in English and Creative Writing from the University of Windsor and a Ph.D. in English from York University. His first novel, Gallows View, publi...
Loading
Title:A Dedicated ManFormat:Mass Market PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 6.75 × 4.19 × 0.88 inPublished:November 9, 1999Publisher:HarperCollins

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0380716453

ISBN - 13:9780380716456

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Enjoyed I like how there was a wrap up at the end. I really like Chief Inspector Banks as a character.
Date published: 2017-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Riveting! Picked up this title following a PBS presentation featuring DCI Banks. Frankly, the book is even better than the British series! Should definitely be on your "must-read" list... Enjoy!
Date published: 2013-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I am hooked. This is the first book I have read of this author. I've already put in an order for a number of his other titles. Very good plot, high quality writing, and easy to read. I would not hesitate to recommend this book to my friends.
Date published: 2009-05-01

From Our Editors

When a well-liked, well-respected former university professor is bludgeoned to death in his beloved, adopted village in Yorkshire Dales, Detective Chief Inspector Alan Banks must sift through dark secrets to solve this seemingly motiveless murder. Reprint

Editorial Reviews

“Stunningly complex and intricately plotted....Peter Robinson fools and entertains me with every twist.”