A Man Called Ove: The life-affirming bestseller that will brighten your day by Fredrik Backmansticker-burst

A Man Called Ove: The life-affirming bestseller that will brighten your day

byFredrik Backman

Kobo ebook | July 3, 2014

see the collection Heather's Picks

Pricing and Purchase Info

$9.99

Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores

about

Perfect for fans of Gail Honeyman's Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine; Ruth Hogan's The Keeper of Lost Things and Graeme Simsion**'s The Rosie Project, A Man Called Ove is one of the best-loved and most life-affirming novels of the decade.**

This multi-million-copy phenomenon is a funny, moving, uplifting tale of love and community that will leave you with a spring in your step.

'Warm, funny, and almost unbearably moving' Daily Mail

'Rescued all those men who constantly mean to read novels but never get round to it' Spectator Books of the Year

At first sight, Ove is almost certainly the grumpiest man you will ever meet. He thinks himself surrounded by idiots - neighbours who can't reverse a trailer properly, joggers, shop assistants who talk in code, and the perpetrators of the vicious coup d'etat that ousted him as Chairman of the Residents' Association. He will persist in making his daily inspection rounds of the local streets.

But isn't it rare, these days, to find such old-fashioned clarity of belief and deed? Such unswerving conviction about what the world should be, and a lifelong dedication to making it just so?

In the end, you will see, there is something about Ove that is quite irresistible . . .

Title:A Man Called Ove: The life-affirming bestseller that will brighten your dayFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:July 3, 2014Publisher:Hodder & StoughtonLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1444775820

ISBN - 13:9781444775822

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Time flew by This curmudgeon character drew me in entirely. I laughed, I cursed him, and I wept for him. Brilliant.
Date published: 2015-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A sweet story I laughed out loud, cried, and was touched by Ove's sweet nature. Excellent story. Highly recommend it!
Date published: 2015-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Poignant and hysterically funny in equal measure Ove is a loveable curmudgeon in late middle-age. He is ever so slightly OCD and has a problem with the machinations of society. Ove is very set in his ways and is disdainful of almost everyone he meets. He has a fondness for rules and thinks that anyone who doesn’t follow them is a harbinger of chaos. He has always driven a Saab car and thinks that what car a person drives tells a lot about a person. His story is told in a series of flashbacks which makes the reader cognizant of all the loss and sadness that Ove has encountered in his life along with all the many talents he possesses. In the present, over the course of of several months, Ove, with a little help from his friends, gets a new lease on life. Poignant and hysterically funny in equal measure, “A man called Ove” is a heartwarming novel of life, loss, and our intrinsic need to be needed. Skillfully written with charm and wit, this debut novel is a fast read – and one you will remember for a long time. You know you’ve read a good book when after the last page is turned you are already missing the characters… I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoyed “The storied life of A.J. Fikry” or “The unlikely pilgrimage of Harold Fry“. “A man called Ove” came about as a result of a blog post from Swedish author Fredrik Backman. His readers took to the character and requested more and more. The result was this novel. Like Frederik Backman’s blog readers, this reader believes that the world would be a better place with more people like “A man called Ove“. This review was originally published on the blog "Fictionophile".
Date published: 2015-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best books I've read in a long time This might be one of the funniest-sweetest novel you will ever read about a curmudgeonly old man. We were slowly brought into Ove's life, his character being peeled back to expose the true man
Date published: 2015-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Man Named Ove One of the BEST books I have read. By the end of the book I felt I knew him personally. He was a wonderful human being. DEFINATELY FIVE STARS! !!
Date published: 2015-01-03