A Naked Singularity: A Novel

Paperback | April 19, 2012

bySergio De La Pava

not yet rated|write a review
A Naked Singularity tells the story of Casi, a child of Colombian immigrants who lives in Brooklyn and works in Manhattan as a public defender--one who, tellingly has never lost a trial. Never. In the book, we watch what happens when his sense of justice and even his sense of self begin to crack--and how his world then slowly devolves. It’s a huge, ambitious novel clearly in the vein of DeLillo, Foster Wallace, Pynchon, and even Melville, and it's told in a distinct, frequently hilarious voice, with a striking human empathy at its center. Its panoramic reach takes readers through crime and courts, immigrant families and urban blight, media savagery and media satire, scatology and boxing, and even a breathless heist worthy of any crime novel. If InfiniteJest stuck a pin in the map of mid-90s culture and drew our trajectory from there, A Naked Singularity does the same for the feeling of surfeit, brokenness, and exhaustion that permeates our civic and cultural life today. In the opening sentence of William Gaddis’s A Frolic of His Own, a character sneers, "Justice? You get justice in the next world. In this world, you get the law." A Naked Singularity reveals the extent of that gap, and lands firmly on the side of those who are forever getting the law.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$17.02 online
$23.50 list price (save 27%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

A Naked Singularity tells the story of Casi, a child of Colombian immigrants who lives in Brooklyn and works in Manhattan as a public defender--one who, tellingly has never lost a trial. Never. In the book, we watch what happens when his sense of justice and even his sense of self begin to crack--and how his world then slowly devolves....

Sergio De La Pava is a writer who does not live in Brooklyn.

other books by Sergio De La Pava

Personae: A Novel
Personae: A Novel

Kobo ebook|Sep 30 2013

$17.19 online$22.31list price(save 22%)
Une Singularité nue
Une Singularité nue

Kobo ebook|Sep 1 2016

$31.99

Format:PaperbackDimensions:688 pages, 9 × 6 × 1.5 inPublished:April 19, 2012Publisher:University Of Chicago PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0226141799

ISBN - 13:9780226141794

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of A Naked Singularity: A Novel

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

"One of the best books of 2012."