A Naked Singularity: A Novel by Sergio De La PavaA Naked Singularity: A Novel by Sergio De La Pava

A Naked Singularity: A Novel

bySergio De La Pava

Paperback | April 19, 2012

Pricing and Purchase Info

$20.91 online 
$23.50 list price save 11%
Earn 105 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


Ships within 1-2 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores


A Naked Singularity tells the story of Casi, a child of Colombian immigrants who lives in Brooklyn and works in Manhattan as a public defender--one who, tellingly has never lost a trial. Never. In the book, we watch what happens when his sense of justice and even his sense of self begin to crack--and how his world then slowly devolves. It’s a huge, ambitious novel clearly in the vein of DeLillo, Foster Wallace, Pynchon, and even Melville, and it's told in a distinct, frequently hilarious voice, with a striking human empathy at its center. Its panoramic reach takes readers through crime and courts, immigrant families and urban blight, media savagery and media satire, scatology and boxing, and even a breathless heist worthy of any crime novel. If InfiniteJest stuck a pin in the map of mid-90s culture and drew our trajectory from there, A Naked Singularity does the same for the feeling of surfeit, brokenness, and exhaustion that permeates our civic and cultural life today. In the opening sentence of William Gaddis’s A Frolic of His Own, a character sneers, "Justice? You get justice in the next world. In this world, you get the law." A Naked Singularity reveals the extent of that gap, and lands firmly on the side of those who are forever getting the law.
Sergio De La Pava is a writer who does not live in Brooklyn.
Title:A Naked Singularity: A NovelFormat:PaperbackDimensions:688 pages, 9 × 6 × 1.5 inPublished:April 19, 2012Publisher:University of Chicago PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0226141799

ISBN - 13:9780226141794

Look for similar items by category:


Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mind Blown This book is everything. It touches on so many points on philosophy, moral, ethics, religion, science. My friend recommended it to me and it's now one of my all time favourite books. Definitely a page turner despite the length of the novel. HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend. It's worth the read.
Date published: 2018-02-05

Editorial Reviews

"One of the best books of 2012."