A Necessary End by Robinson, Peter

A Necessary End

byRobinson, Peter

Paperback | August 31, 1993

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$9.99 online 
$10.50
Earn 50 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

In the tradition of Ian Rankin and Elizabeth George, this masterful novel of suspense—from New York Times bestselling and Edgar Award-winning author Peter Robinson—spins a story of professional jealousy that could result in more than one murder.

A peaceful demonstration in the normally quiet town of Eastvale ends with fifty arrests—and the brutal stabbing death of a young constable. But Chief Inspector Alan Banks fears there is worse violence in the offing. For CID Superintendent Richard Burgess has arrived from London to take charge of the investigation, fueled by professional outrage and volatile, long-simmering hatreds.

Almost immediately, Burgess descends with vengeful fury upon the members of a sixties-style commune—while Banks sifts through the rich Yorkshire soil around him, turning over the earthy, unsettling secrets of seemingly placid local lives. Crossing Burgess could cost the Chief Inspector his career. But the killing of a flawed Eastvale policeman is not the only murder that needs to be solved here. And if Banks doesn't unmask the true assassin, his superior's misguided obsession might well result in further bloodshed.

Peter Robinson once again explores the human psyche in a novel that demonstrates how our weaknesses can lead to deadly consequences.

About The Author

Peter Robinson, author of the award-winning Inspector Banks mystery series, was born and grew up in Yorkshire. His most recent Inspector Banks mystery, Innocent Graves, was chosen as both a People magazine Page-Turner-of-the-Week and a Publishers Weekly Best Book-of-the-Year. The winner of numerous awards in the United States, Britain ...
When The Music's Over
When The Music's Over

by Peter Robinson

$19.14$21.00

In stock online

Available in stores

Children Of The Revolution
Children Of The Revolution

by Peter Robinson

$8.00$29.95

In stock online

Available in stores

September In The Rain
September In The Rain

by Peter Robinson

$19.95

In stock online

Not available in stores

Shop this author

Details & Specs

Title:A Necessary EndFormat:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 6.86 × 4.19 × 0.97 inPublished:August 31, 1993Publisher:Avon Books

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0380719460

ISBN - 13:9780380719464

Look for similar items by category:

Nearby Stores

We found 0 nearby stores

Customer Reviews of A Necessary End

Reviews

Extra Content

From Our Editors

After a young constable is stabbed to death during an anti-nuke demonstration, Eastvale Chief Inspector Alan Banks must find the culprit before more violence erupts. By the author of A Dedicated Man. Reprint. PW. NYT.

Editorial Reviews

"Thoughtful...vivid...challenging...like the region that breeds them, the people in Robinson's mystery flaunt their colors but keep their secrets."--" New York Times Book Review"Excellent."--" Orlando Sentinel"A rich, multi-layered book, elegantly written and carefully plotted."--" Virginia Pilot and Ledger-Star"An exceptional series." --- Washington Post