A Necessary End by Robinson, PeterA Necessary End by Robinson, Peter

A Necessary End

byRobinson, Peter

Paperback | August 31, 1993

Pricing and Purchase Info

$9.99 online 
$10.50 list price
Earn 50 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

In the tradition of Ian Rankin and Elizabeth George, this masterful novel of suspense—from New York Times bestselling and Edgar Award-winning author Peter Robinson—spins a story of professional jealousy that could result in more than one murder.

A peaceful demonstration in the normally quiet town of Eastvale ends with fifty arrests—and the brutal stabbing death of a young constable. But Chief Inspector Alan Banks fears there is worse violence in the offing. For CID Superintendent Richard Burgess has arrived from London to take charge of the investigation, fueled by professional outrage and volatile, long-simmering hatreds.

Almost immediately, Burgess descends with vengeful fury upon the members of a sixties-style commune—while Banks sifts through the rich Yorkshire soil around him, turning over the earthy, unsettling secrets of seemingly placid local lives. Crossing Burgess could cost the Chief Inspector his career. But the killing of a flawed Eastvale policeman is not the only murder that needs to be solved here. And if Banks doesn't unmask the true assassin, his superior's misguided obsession might well result in further bloodshed.

Peter Robinson once again explores the human psyche in a novel that demonstrates how our weaknesses can lead to deadly consequences.

Peter Robinson, author of the award-winning Inspector Banks mystery series, was born and grew up in Yorkshire. His most recent Inspector Banks mystery, Innocent Graves, was chosen as both a People magazine Page-Turner-of-the-Week and a Publishers Weekly Best Book-of-the-Year. The winner of numerous awards in the United States, Britain ...
Loading
Title:A Necessary EndFormat:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 6.86 × 4.19 × 0.97 inPublished:August 31, 1993Publisher:Avon Books

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0380719460

ISBN - 13:9780380719464

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Engaging I am rapidly becoming a fan of Inspector Banks, this was an engaging read that left me guessing until the end.
Date published: 2017-04-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Clean, Solid English Mystery I needed something easy to get me out of my reading slump...and this was it. A good, clean English mystery with the likeable Chief Inspector Alan Banks. This is the third book in the Banks series...and i already have my hands on book one. With so much gore and unnecessary violence found in some mysteries, this book was a nice change. A policeman murdered during an anti-nuclear demonstration...a group of unusual characters living at Maggie's Farm...eight solid suspects...and Banks there to tie it all together. Have to love Banks...smoking, drinking, music-loving Alan Banks... On to book one to see how it all started...
Date published: 2009-06-25

From Our Editors

After a young constable is stabbed to death during an anti-nuke demonstration, Eastvale Chief Inspector Alan Banks must find the culprit before more violence erupts. By the author of A Dedicated Man. Reprint. PW. NYT.

Editorial Reviews

"Thoughtful...vivid...challenging...like the region that breeds them, the people in Robinson's mystery flaunt their colors but keep their secrets."--" New York Times Book Review"Excellent."--" Orlando Sentinel"A rich, multi-layered book, elegantly written and carefully plotted."--" Virginia Pilot and Ledger-Star"An exceptional series." --- Washington Post