A Possibility Of Whales by Karen RiversA Possibility Of Whales by Karen Rivers

A Possibility Of Whales

byKaren Rivers

Hardcover | March 13, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.76 online 
$22.95 list price save 26%
Earn 84 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

The story of a girl who learns the true meaning of family—thanks to her best friends near and far, a loving and quirky single dad, and an unexpected encounter with a whale. 

Twelve-year-old Natalia Rose Baleine Gallagher loves possibilities: the possibility that she’ll see whales on the beach near her new home, that the boy she just met will be her new best friend, that the photographers chasing her actor father won’t force Nat and her dad to move again. Most of all, Nat dreams of the possibility that her faraway mother misses and loves Nat—and is waiting for Nat to find her.

The thing is, Nat doesn’t even know who her mother is. She left Nat as a baby, and Nat’s dad refuses to talk about it. Nat knows she shouldn’t need a mom, but she still feels like something is missing.

In this heartfelt story about family, friendship, and growing up, Nat’s questions lead her on a journey of self-discovery that will change her life forever.
 
Karen Rivers’s books have been nominated for a wide range of literary awards and have been published in multiple languages. When she’s not writing, reading, or visiting schools, she can usu­ally be found hiking in the forest that flourishes behind her tiny old house in Victoria, British Columbia, where she lives with her two kids, two ...
Loading
Title:A Possibility Of WhalesFormat:HardcoverDimensions:288 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.98 inPublished:March 13, 2018Publisher:Algonquin BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:161620723X

ISBN - 13:9781616207236

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Possibility Of Whales I loved this, a stand-out middle grade story Nat is such a heart-tugging girl and her dad has tons of personality, they have such an adorable relationship. #plumreview
Date published: 2018-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great book!! This book was just amazing! The characters were so real and moving. Nat has a famous father, but life hasn’t been easy for them. She has never known who her mother is, and her father tries to keep them out of the spotlight and away from the paparazzi. I also loved the character of Harry! He is a transgender boy, which is not common in middle grade stories. Harry struggles with being his true self, because his father insists that he remain a girl. The pacing of the story was great. There were a couple of reveals at the end. Though they weren’t big mysteries, such as why Nat didn’t like Solly anymore, the suspense kept me guessing. The kids in this story faced real, adult problems. Kids grow up very fast these days, so it makes sense that the children they read about would have to as well. I absolutely loved this story for both young readers and adults! I received a copy of this book from the publisher.
Date published: 2018-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A uniquely told story with humour. For me, this book was really about people attempting to define their changing, complicated worlds. The main character, Natalia, or Nat, is trying to figure out what it means to be a daughter to a famous Dad (a character that is, I believe, hilariously modeled after Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson and then developed into a caricature - which was good comic relief for a story that is somewhat serious), what it means to not know your mother, and what it means to have a mother-like figure. Other characters struggle with gender identity, and their family members struggle with that as well. How does one deal with having a transgendered child? These characters are far from perfect and make many mistakes in how they try to construct their world and this is part of the story as well. Whether it was the sweet, and funny relationship between Nat and her father, or the contrariness of Nat's friend Harry's relationship with his Dad, a book that examines today's changing nature of the friendship and family could be an important read for the young person that needs it. This book tackles some serious subjects, but also has some comic relief. The plot and characters are not always tidy and it won't be a super comfortable read for many young people. Personally, I like that kind of book, but, of course, not everyone does. While this book could be used in elementary schools, it does have some content that suits mature readers.
Date published: 2018-03-13

Editorial Reviews

“A remarkable novel . . . Nat’s witty and vulnerable voice drives the novel, from her wry observations about contemporary celebrity culture to the thoughtful collection of untranslatable words that help define her world. The chapters that center Harry’s perspective are just as strong, emphasizing his desire to be seen and understood, not as an abstract exemplar of a transgender child but as an individual. The novel avoids offering simple solutions for questions of identity and adolescence, instead reveling in life’s nuance and complexity. Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale and Counting by Sevens, Rivers’ latest work brings an improbable combination of elements together in an unforgettable story that is quirky and wise.” —School Library Journal   “Charming and sweet as it explores personal identity, life changes, love, and, of course, whales . . . Nat’s story of self-discovery is sure to inspire anyone searching for their place in the world.” —Foreword Reviews   “A coming-of-age story that’s both relatable and moving  . . . [Rivers] strikes the perfect tone of innocence, confusion and a touch of obstinance with Natalia, as she wades into the wild world of growing up . . . a bright, optimistic book that touches on growing up, celebrity visibility, transgender topics and more — refreshingly, and without being too weighed down with any insurmountably sombre notes.” —Vancouver Sun