A Rambler Steals Home by Carter HigginsA Rambler Steals Home by Carter Higgins

A Rambler Steals Home

byCarter Higgins

Hardcover | February 28, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$23.99

Earn 120 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

Eleven-year-old Derby Christmas Clark is a rambler of the road. She travels year-round in an RV with her father and younger brother, selling Christmas trees during the cold months and burgers and fries during baseball season. Derby always did prefer grease splatters to hauling trees, so she's excited that summer will take her back to the small town of Ridge Creek, the Rockskippers, her best friend, and her surrogate mom, June. But this summer, a tragedy has changed Ridge Creek-and as Derby tries to help those she loves, long-held secrets are revealed. This warm-hearted southern debut is perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo and Sheila Turnage.
Carter Higgins is an elementary school librarian, book blogger, and graphic designer. A Rambler Steals Home is her first novel. A native of Virginia, she now lives in Southern California. Visit her website at www.carterhiggins.com .
Loading
Title:A Rambler Steals HomeFormat:HardcoverDimensions:224 pages, 7.75 × 5.25 × 0.81 inPublished:February 28, 2017Publisher:Houghton Mifflin HarcourtLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0544602013

ISBN - 13:9780544602014

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from A home run! What a fantastic read! Derby Christmas Clark travels the county with her dad and younger brother, selling Christmas trees in the winter and flipping burgers in the summer. They spend every summer in the small town of Ridge Creek Virginia, the closest thing Derby knows to a home. This summer brings a swath of changes into Derby's life. This story was brimming with fantastic characters and wonderful relationships. It was heart-warming and sweet and I can't wait to read it again.
Date published: 2017-07-03

Editorial Reviews

This story is about as feel-good as they come, with new friendships grounded on old ones, poignant adolescent growth, and insights into family stories." -Bulletin "? readers will easily connect with the story's reflections on belonging, hope, family, and the meaning of home." -Publishers Weekly "Vibrant, engaging Derby and her descriptive firstperson narrative, full of lively and poignant touches, are compelling and affecting? A heartfelt, immersive debut, perfect for sports fans." -Booklist "Fans of quiet, nostalgic stories about team spirit should enjoy this debut effort." -Kirkus "