A Royal Guide To Monster Slaying by Kelley ArmstrongA Royal Guide To Monster Slaying by Kelley Armstrong

A Royal Guide To Monster Slaying

byKelley ArmstrongIllustratorXavière Daumarie

Hardcover | August 6, 2019

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.99

Earn 100 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Monster hunting isn't for the faint of heart -- the first in a brand-new middle-grade series by NYT bestselling author, Kelley Armstrong.

Twelve-year-old Rowan is destined to be Queen; her twin brother, Rhydd, to be Royal Monster Hunter. Rowan would give anything to switch places, but the oldest child is always next in line, even if she is only older by two minutes. She resigns herself to admiring her monster hunting aunt's glorious sword and joining her queen mother for boring diplomatic teas. But tragedy shatters the longstanding rule, and Rowan finds herself hunting the most dangerous monster of all: a gryphon. 
     Accompanied by a feisty baby jackalope and a giant wolf that barely tolerates her, Rowan sets off on a journey that will see her join other unlikely allies: a boy with monster-hunting ambitions of his own, and a girl hiding dangerous motives. It will take all of Rowan's skills, both physical and diplomatic, to keep this adventure on track. The future of her kingdom depends on it.
KELLEY ARMSTRONG is the #1 New York Times-bestselling author of three trilogies for teens: the Darkest Powers; Darkness Rising and Age of Legends, as well as several thriller and fantasy series for adults and three YA thrillers (The Masked Truth, Missing and Aftermath). She is also the co-author (with Melissa Marr) of the Blackwell Pag...
Loading
Title:A Royal Guide To Monster SlayingFormat:HardcoverProduct dimensions:288 pages, 8.5 × 5.88 × 0.96 inShipping dimensions:8.5 × 5.88 × 0.96 inPublished:August 6, 2019Publisher:PRH Canada Young ReadersLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0735265356

ISBN - 13:9780735265356

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from This book was awesome! 4.5/ 5 stars I loved this book. This is the first book in a new middle grade fantasy series by one of my favorite authors! The narrator is 12 year old Rowan (1st person POV). She is a princess and is supposed to be the next Queen. Her twin brother Rhydd will be the next Royal Monster Hunter. But she desperately wants that job. This was such an enjoyable book. What a cute story! It was filled with unicorns and monsters. And was such a great read. I knew that I loved this author (I've read and loved so many of her adult and Young Adult books). But I was not sure how much I would like a book geared towards teens and tweens. I originally got the book to read with my 10 year old niece. But that did not end up happening. I was so pleasantly surprised at how much I loved this book. It kept my interest. I was not bored. Rowan was such a great heroine. She might have been only 12 years old, but I loved her. This was such a charming book. I absolutely cannot wait to continue this series.
Date published: 2019-08-06

Read from the Book

“I know you love unicorns, Rowan, but please stop staring at mine. You’re making him nervous. ”I do not love unicorns, as my aunt Jannah knows. Jerks. All of them. I’m not staring at Courtois. I’m staring him down. Unfortunately, she’s wrong about the third part, too. I can’t make him nervous, no matter how hard I try. We’re in the castle courtyard, the high stone walls stealing the morning sun. Around us, the royal hunters prepare for their mission. A mission I should be joining. My twin brother, Rhydd, is and I belong at his side, keeping him safe. As I scowl at Courtois, Rhydd’s hand thumps on my shoulder. “Give it up, Ro.” “That beast stepped on my foot,” I say. “On purpose.” “Yep, I’m sure he did. He is a unicorn.” I move away from Courtois only to stumble over my aunt’s warg, Malric. The giant wolf lifts his head, upper lip curling to reveal canines as long as my hand. The last person who tried to pet him lost two fingers. Even I know better. I quickstep out of his reach. “Making friends with all the monsters this morning, aren’t you?” Rhydd teases. As I grumble, he leans in to whisper, “I know you’re upset. You’re worried about me going on the gryphon hunt.” “I’m not wor—” “You’re worried, and this is how you show it. By grumbling and scowling and staring down unicorns.” “It’s not fair.” “I know,” he says. My scowl deepens, and I want to kick the dirt and growl and stomp. That would be childish, though, and I am not a child. I’m twelve. I’m a princess. One day, I’ll be queen. I don’t want to be queen. I’ll be horrible at it. Rhydd should get the throne. Even now, as scared as he is, he’s trying to calm me. That’s what a real leader does. “Rhydd?” Jannah calls. “Saddle up.” As Jannah climbs onto Courtois, her sheathed sword swings by her side. I look at that sword, a gleaming ebony-wood center with a razor-sharp obsidian edge. I imagine it in my hands, and a lump rises in my throat. This is who I want to be. This is who I should be. Not the queen, but the royal monster hunter. Everyone knows it. I hear the whispers, how my thoughtful brother should sit on the ivory throne, how his headstrong twin sister should wield the ebony sword.

Editorial Reviews

PRAISE FOR A Royal Guide to Monster Slaying:“Armstrong’s characters challenge gender norms, and her writing attends to themes of social justice and animal welfare, relying on strong episodic tension to drive the narrative. . . Rowen [is] strong, thoughtful, sometimes vulnerable, and dedicated to leading without calling on stereotypical gendered characterizations. Highly Recommended.” --CM Magazine"A rousing romp for monster hunters and monster lovers alike." --Kirkus Reviews". . . [A] fast and fun read, a great read-a-like for Tamora Pierce’s 'Tortall' series." --School Library Journal"[A] gripping middle grade debut." --Publishers Weekly