A Scientific Romance by Ronald WrightA Scientific Romance by Ronald Wright

A Scientific Romance

byRonald Wright

Paperback | July 7, 1998

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.20 online 
$21.00 list price save 8%
Earn 96 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

In this critically acclaimed and bestselling novel, Ronald Wright has fashioned a story for our times, an unforgettable chronicle of love, plague and time travel in the tradition of Nineteen Eighty-Four and The Handmaid's Tale.
Ronald Wright is the author of the international bestsellers Time Among the Maya and Stolen Continents and of Home and Away, an acclaimed collection of travel pieces. He lives near Port Hope, Ontario.
Loading
Title:A Scientific RomanceFormat:PaperbackDimensions:320 pages, 8 × 5.15 × 0.7 inPublished:July 7, 1998Publisher:Knopf CanadaLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0676971075

ISBN - 13:9780676971071

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantasmagorical Wright's book - a haunting journal of a man propelled into an apocalyptic not-to-distant and all too possible future, ranks as one of the best in the genre. A relevant clarion call that should be required reading!
Date published: 2001-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Scientific Romance Building on H.G. Wells' novel, The Time Machine, Wright portrays a dystopian future, into which an individual, by scientific miracle, travels 500 years, documenting every emotion and experience. A novel about the curiosities, reverence of a radically changed future, regret and hindsight. Not many novels have changed my outlook on the present as this one has. Nor have many novels made me think critically of our treatment of the environment - and of other people.
Date published: 1999-06-21

Editorial Reviews

"Wright has come up with a treasure, a delightfully witty and suspenseful fantasy — in the rip-roaring tradition of the masters."—Alberto Manguel, The Globe and Mail"[A] virtuoso performance, an audacious leap ... into the unknown ... both beautifully realized and macabre.... This is an extraordinary novel, a brilliant synthesis of interpretive and imaginative elements, and, like the best fiction, a trenchant commentary on reality."—The Financial Post"Dazzling — A Scientific Romance is — poetic, sexy, satirical, [and] layered with rich bits from the author's well-stocked mind."—The Globe and Mail"A ripping yarn packed with head-turning ideas.... [Wright] artfully uses the archeology of the future to satiric ends.... A Scientific Romance is a feast of a read, succeeding both as entertainment and a provocative parable of environmental limits."—Ted Mumford, NOW"... A powerful visionary core ... few writers have imagined the future with such compelling and tragic urgency."—John Bemrose, Maclean's"Pure pleasure [and] — perfectly imagined....A deeply seductive and brilliantly sustained piece of adventure writing — enthrallingly descriptive, [which] turns into a compelling cultural satire."—The Observer"In 100 years' time this book should be a classic."—The Guardian"A skillful, thoughtful fantasy of the postmillennium ..."—The New York Times Book Review"Cool, clever, and unsettling, A Scientific Romance [is] imaginatively created, richly detailed and at times effortlessly funny, [yet] bursting with rage at what is happening around us."—The Australian Bulletin"...gloriously bizarre plotline...Ronald Wright..plays slyly with his literary tradition in his impressive first novel."—Sydney Morning Herald