A Scientific Romance

Paperback | July 7, 1998

byRonald Wright

not yet rated|write a review
In this critically acclaimed and bestselling novel, Ronald Wright has fashioned a story for our times, an unforgettable chronicle of love, plague and time travel in the tradition of Nineteen Eighty-Four and The Handmaid''s Tale.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$20.98 online
$21.00 list price
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

In this critically acclaimed and bestselling novel, Ronald Wright has fashioned a story for our times, an unforgettable chronicle of love, plague and time travel in the tradition of Nineteen Eighty-Four and The Handmaid's Tale.

Ronald Wright is the author of the international bestsellers Time Among the Maya and Stolen Continents and of Home and Away, an acclaimed collection of travel pieces. He lives near Port Hope, Ontario.

other books by Ronald Wright

A Short History of Progress
A Short History of Progress

Paperback|Oct 23 2004

$18.13 online$19.95list price(save 9%)
The Gold Eaters
The Gold Eaters

Hardcover|Sep 22 2015

$29.27 online$32.00list price(save 8%)
What Is America?: A Short History Of The New World Order
What Is America?: A Short History Of The New World Orde...

Paperback|Aug 4 2009

$15.42 online$19.95list price(save 22%)
see all books by Ronald Wright
Format:PaperbackDimensions:320 pages, 8 × 5.15 × 0.7 inPublished:July 7, 1998Publisher:Knopf CanadaLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0676971075

ISBN - 13:9780676971071

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantasmagorical Wright's book - a haunting journal of a man propelled into an apocalyptic not-to-distant and all too possible future, ranks as one of the best in the genre. A relevant clarion call that should be required reading!
Date published: 2001-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Scientific Romance Building on H.G. Wells' novel, The Time Machine, Wright portrays a dystopian future, into which an individual, by scientific miracle, travels 500 years, documenting every emotion and experience. A novel about the curiosities, reverence of a radically changed future, regret and hindsight. Not many novels have changed my outlook on the present as this one has. Nor have many novels made me think critically of our treatment of the environment - and of other people.
Date published: 1999-06-21