A Series Of Unfortunate Events Box: The Trouble Begins (books 1-3) by Lemony SnicketA Series Of Unfortunate Events Box: The Trouble Begins (books 1-3) by Lemony Snicket

A Series Of Unfortunate Events Box: The Trouble Begins (books 1-3)

byLemony Snicket

Hardcover | October 2, 2001

Pricing and Purchase Info

$35.20 online 
$51.99 list price save 32%
Earn 176 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores



Lemony Snicket’s unhappy tale of the unlucky Baudelaire siblings begins with The Bad Beginning. In this short bothersome book alone, the three orphans encounter a greedy and repulsive villain, itchy clothing, a disastrous fire, a plot to steal their fortune, and cold porridge for breakfast.

Should you not mind deadly serpents, slippery salamanders, lumpy beds, large brass reading lamps, long knives, and terrible odors, then proceed with caution to the second book in the miserable series, The Reptile Room.

Readers unbothered by inclement weather, hungry leeches, and cold cucumber soup will want to continue with the third installment, The Wide Window. Others will not.

If you’ve got the stomach to wade through the first three tragic tales in Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events, then this troubling collection might be the one for you. You’ve been warned!

Lemony Snicket claims he was nowhere near the scene of the crime. He is the author of several other unpleasant stories, including those in the bestselling A Series of Unfortunate Events and The Lump of Coal.
Title:A Series Of Unfortunate Events Box: The Trouble Begins (books 1-3)Format:HardcoverDimensions:7.44 × 5.25 × 2.71 inPublished:October 2, 2001Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:006029809X

ISBN - 13:9780060298098

Appropriate for ages: 9 - 12


Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Series of Unfortunate Events 1-3 A terrific beginning. It got me hooked on the series
Date published: 2018-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great series clever and entertaining! it is full of mysteries and very well written
Date published: 2018-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great books Loved reading these books as a child!
Date published: 2017-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from funny the funniest series i've ever read!
Date published: 2017-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favourite series! I started reading these books in elementary school and continued reading into my teenage years. Daniel Handler aka Lemony Snicket can twist and play with words like no other and his style is a delight to read. Although the unfortunate events are numerous, this is more than a depressing read. The Baudelaires are truly resilient and it's inspiring and comforting all at once. #plumreview
Date published: 2017-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loveee These books are awesome and such a great read!
Date published: 2017-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great for gift my niece loved it when she got as a gift
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it My favourite thing about this series - other than the evil and the good and the bad and the characters - is that the author gives definitions of words in the circumstance in the book so it makes sense to the reader.
Date published: 2016-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredibly interesting At first I thought that it was going to be a silly kids book but amazingly it was great and I have since read up to book seven and am thrilled to hear that there will be more books from the series to come. For those who like adventures I suggest that you pick one of the books up.
Date published: 2002-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Harry Potter, who? Give Harry Potter a rest, 'cause here comes the real stuff! The hilarious series about three orphans who get into a lot of trouble. These books are easy reads, but are by far my favorites! Fab for all ages!
Date published: 2002-01-04

From Our Editors

This boxed gift set includes the first three books of Lemony Snicket's "A Series of Unfortunate Events" in hardcover: The Bad Beginning, The Reptile Room, and The Wide Window. Ages 9 and up.