A Series Of Unfortunate Events #6: The Ersatz Elevator: The Ersatz Elevator by Lemony SnicketA Series Of Unfortunate Events #6: The Ersatz Elevator: The Ersatz Elevator by Lemony Snicket

A Series Of Unfortunate Events #6: The Ersatz Elevator: The Ersatz Elevator

byLemony Snicket

Hardcover | February 20, 2001

Pricing and Purchase Info

$10.86 online 
$17.50 list price save 37%
Earn 54 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES

In their most daring misadventure, the Baudelaire orphans are adopted by very, very rich people, whose penthouse apartment is located mysteriously close to the place where all their misfortune began. Even though their new home in the city is fancy, and the children are clever and charming, I'm sorry to say that still, the unlucky orphans will encounter more disaster and woe. In fact, in this sixth book in A Series of Unfortunate Events, the children will experience a darkened staircase, a red herring, an auction, parsley soda, some friends in a dire situation, a secret passageway, and pinstripe suits.

Both literary and irreverent, hilarious and deftly crafted, A Series of Unfortunate Events offers an exquisitely dark comedy in the tradition of Edward Gorey and Roald Dahl. Lemon Snicket's uproariously unhappy books continue to win readers, despite all his warnings.

Lemony Snicket is often despondent, mostly about his published research, which includes A Series of Unfortunate Events andThe Composer Is Dead.
Loading
Title:A Series Of Unfortunate Events #6: The Ersatz Elevator: The Ersatz ElevatorFormat:HardcoverDimensions:272 pages, 7 × 5 × 1.01 inPublished:February 20, 2001Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0064408647

ISBN - 13:9780064408646

Appropriate for ages: 9 - 12

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ersatz Elevator One of the weirdest, but greatest in the series.
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous read, very exciting story. Fabulous read, very exciting story.
Date published: 2017-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very entertaining story. Great read and characters. Very entertaining story. Great read and characters.
Date published: 2017-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I loved this one! I in particular remember this book - it had so many twists and turns! Very enjoyable.
Date published: 2017-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely a series that is worth a read. One of the bests. The series is quite unfortunate but is more than worth the read.
Date published: 2017-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great series Love this series to death.
Date published: 2017-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great but unfortunate series Love this series! Definitely worth a read :)
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it one of my favorite books in the series
Date published: 2017-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it one of my favorite books in the series
Date published: 2017-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it one of my favorite books in the series
Date published: 2017-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from funny the funniest series i've ever read!
Date published: 2017-02-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very well done snicket does not disappoint
Date published: 2017-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well done Great book. The story continues to be even more interesting with all the twists and turns.
Date published: 2017-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FAVOURITE This is my FAV in the series! Such a good series - but this book was by far the best! I read it in one night, I could not put it down
Date published: 2017-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fave Series This was always my favourite of the series! Would totally recommend the series to anyone!
Date published: 2017-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Book 6 Read this series growing up and now I am re-reading them in preparation to watch the netflix adaptation. Loving the nostalgia of revisiting the story and the characters #plumreview
Date published: 2017-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Part Six of an Interesting Series All of my friends and I were reading these book when they came out back in our elementary school days. They were different than anything on the market, and we couldn't get enough of it. There was always something to discuss amongst friends during the reading of this series, and all of us in particular remember the entire page on which was written exclusively, and excessively, very, very, very... An excellent series to introduce to younger readers. #plumreviews
Date published: 2017-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favourite series! I started reading these books in elementary school and continued reading into my teenage years. Daniel Handler aka Lemony Snicket can twist and play with words like no other and his style is a delight to read. Although the unfortunate events are numerous, this is more than a depressing read. The Baudelaires are truly resilient and it's inspiring and comforting all at once. #plumreview
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Remains my favourite out of the series - sometimes the other ones are a little too sad but I found this one balanced the unfortunate events with enough moments of hope. Loved it!
Date published: 2017-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Another exciting adventure!
Date published: 2017-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun! These are wonderful books that kids and adults will enjoy.
Date published: 2017-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic I liked the length of this book.
Date published: 2016-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spectacular These books have remained my favourite series since i stopped reading Junie B. Jones. You can never be too old for these books, this was one of the best books in the series with the new family they are with. the baudelaires cant seem to stop having interesting, unexpected twists and turns in their life. I will never not recommend this book
Date published: 2016-11-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from never too old I am now 30-years-old and I just started reading this series about a year ago and all I can say is, no one is ever too old for a children's book. While it's a pretty quick read I love the use of language--I am even learning some of the words Lemony Snicket and the Baudelaire's throw out there!
Date published: 2016-11-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from totally tootable it was great but i find it ended to quickly. i like how lemony uses black pages to describe what hes talking about(im not saying that that happened in this book) what can i say its lemony snicket.
Date published: 2006-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY VERY GOOD BOOK IT WAS VERY GOOD
Date published: 2006-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from asome this book was a thriler, I strongly recommend this book to anyone between the ages of 8-15.
Date published: 2005-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Ersatz elevator This book is excellent! It's both smart, and funny. Perfect for anyone who is still reading those Harry Potter books.
Date published: 2005-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best book ever THIS BOOK WAS THE BEST!IT GOT TO THE POINT REALLY FAST,AND IT WAS FULL OF SURPRISES,I READ IT WITHIN 1 WEEK!
Date published: 2004-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN!!! I love these books, they are way better the Harry Potter, these books always surprise you... in the first book, I thought I knew the ending, I was in for a big surprise!!!
Date published: 2001-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the best book of the series! As you might know, i am a huge fan of Lemny Snickets books! His words and his story make the book come alive as soon as you read it!The ellequent languge makes you not want to put the book down. The complete soarse of adventure, and suspence makes you want to keep on buying theis wounderful books!i am soon on my way on buying the 7th book! This books are the best books that i have ever read!My favorite is the 6th. It is the 2nd longest book! i read it in 2 days! that is how good it is! and if you want 2 know something, i am propbably the slowest reader in the world!
Date published: 2001-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply the Best The Ersatz Elevator is the best!! This Series became my favorite (sending Harry Potter to second) in a second. I've read every book in this series so far and they have been awesome! In this book Violet, Sunny and Klaus find themself in a life surronded with 71 bedroom apartments, pinstripe suits, parsely soda and fake elevators. Once again reuniting with the Quamire triplets who once again fail to escape. While reading this story you will find Count Olaf tricking the Baudelair's into bying Very Fancy Doilies (VFD). I recommend this story to anyone who likes excitement. If you are looking for an exciting series you will not be dissapointed with these books.
Date published: 2001-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from SO AMAZING!!!! This book was SO AWESOME!! It was better than all of the other ones! this is the best series I have ever read. I hate to say this but it is even better than Harry Potter. I recommend this series so much. I cannot wait until I read the Vile Village. I hope Mr. Snicket at least makes ten books in the series. Anyway, this book is awesome. READ IT!!!
Date published: 2001-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Read I thought this book was excellent. I've read all of his books and I really enjoyed the little twist near the end. These books are really adventurous and they keep your interest no matter what!! I can't wait until the Vile Village comes out in May.
Date published: 2001-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from IT WAS EXCELLENT This book was very good it was the best out of all the otherers.You now how you were scared to right your name in the books probally because you thought kids wouldent like them well i can tell you you dont half to be scared anymore because every kid at my schoolis reading your books because there the best and i can tell you your books are way better than Harry Potter thats one thing i now for sure hope you right more books because your the bestmaybe you can come to are school are librarian would love that because she really like that and one kid went to that confrence in ontario and she saw you maybe you met her bye just wondering is this going to the author are chapters well if it goes to chapters can you give it to the author well sorry i didnt write in sentences im sorda rushing bye
Date published: 2001-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Snicket does it again When we last left the Baudelaire orphans they had just lost their two new friends, the triplets, who were kidnapped by Count Olaf. While I would like to tell you what happens in this next miserable and woeful tale, I would not like to spare any of you the misery of reading the book yourself. Rest assured, someone will die and the Baudelaire orphans will still not have a permanent home.
Date published: 2001-03-04

Employee Review

The sixth book in this series continues the story of the three unfortunate orphans, Violet, Klaus and Sunny. After the children are sent to live with Mr. and Mrs. Squalor in their big penthouse apartment, they find an abandoned elevator. While the Squalors sleep, they climb down the elevator shaft to discover there is an evil scheme brewing involving the Quagmire triplets, who were kidnapped in the previous book and never found. Find out how the orphans try to save the triplets in this fantastic book.