A Sorrowful Sanctuary: A Lane Winslow Mystery by Iona WhishawA Sorrowful Sanctuary: A Lane Winslow Mystery by Iona Whishaw

A Sorrowful Sanctuary: A Lane Winslow Mystery

byIona Whishaw

Paperback | September 25, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.95

Earn 85 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

In the fifth book of the series that the Globe and Mail calls "terrific," Lane Winslow investigates the murder of an unidentified man she found adrift in a boat near King's Cove.

Lane Winslow is enjoying a perfect, sunny day at the lake when she spots a gravely injured young man drifting in a sinking rowboat. Hypothermic, bleeding, and soaked in icy, bloody water, he is unable to speak, leaving Lane at a loss. What series of events brought him to this grisly fate?

Darling and Ames are quick to pick up the case, but leads are few until Angela's young son finds an unsettling clue on the beach—a bright red swastika lapel pin—that points to the National Unity Party of Canada. When the anonymous man succumbs to his injuries, Darling and Lane are thrown headlong into a murder investigation with ties to the old country.

Fans of Maisie Dobbs, Bess Crawford, and the ever-popular Kopp Sisters will be enchanted by Lane Winslow, a clever, no-nonsense sleuth based on the author's own mother, who was a wartime spy.

Iona Whishaw is a former educator and social worker whose mother and grandfather were both spies during their respective wars. She lives in Vancouver, British Columbia with her husband. Visit her at ionawhishaw.com.
Loading
Title:A Sorrowful Sanctuary: A Lane Winslow MysteryFormat:PaperbackProduct dimensions:368 pages, 7.5 × 5 × 0.1 inShipping dimensions:7.5 × 5 × 0.1 inPublished:September 25, 2018Publisher:TouchWood EditionsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:177151289X

ISBN - 13:9781771512893

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from A compelling story I enjoyed the previous books in this series, and this installment tells a great story. Set in and around Nelson, BC, this mystery has Lane Winslow and Inspector Darling involved in the disappearance of one young man and the murder of another. Set in 1947, the time shifts back in a number of places, telling a back story prior to WWII. Iona Whishaw's writes very well, and her plot and characters keep the reader's interest from beginning to end. My only complaint with this book is the fact that there are several editing glitches, and in particular I found one historical error; the author has stated, in a section of the book set in early 1939, that "the war is on", while in fact WWII was not declared until September 1, 1939. I pointed this error out to the author, and she replied that she will have subsequent editions changed to reflect the correct historical information. All in all, however, a very good read.
Date published: 2019-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic series! I love cozy mysteries - it is by far my favourite genre, first sparked by reading Agatha Christie. So I was thrilled when I stumbled upon Iona Whishaw’s books. A Canadian, post-WW2, feminist, cozy mystery series? Yes, please! When the opportunity came to read an ARC of the next book A Sorrowful Sanctuary, I was beyond thrilled. Thank you Touchwood Editions! A Sorrowful Sanctuary is the fifth book in the series. Lane, a fiercely independent, former British spy has settled into her new life in rural King’s Cove, British Columbia. She has a beautiful cottage, lovely neighbours and a killer view. Honestly - just reading about it makes me incredibly jealous. I would love to live in a place like that. Minus the murders, of course. Lane has a tendency to stumble upon dead bodies, which inevitably brings her into contact with Inspector Darling. Cue the sparks! Whishaw’s writing is excellent. The plots are complex and the characters show great emotional depth. The stories also prove to be great history lessons too - I definitely don’t know enough about the late ’40’s in Canada. It’s fascinating stuff. Like most readers, I try to predict who the killer is in any mystery I read. I’ll admit, I suck at it most of the time. In this case, I was partly right - but there was a twist I totally didn’t see coming. I love when that happens. And then (AND THEN!) the ending had me practically cheering! You’ll have to read it to see what I mean. ;) I sincerely hope there is a sixth book in the series - I just can’t get enough.
Date published: 2018-08-07

From the Author

In the fifth book of the series that the Globe and Mail calls "terrific," Lane Winslow investigates the murder of an unidentified man she found adrift in a boat near King's Cove.Lane Winslow is enjoying a perfect, sunny day at the lake when she spots a gravely injured young man drifting in a sinking rowboat. Hypothermic, bleeding, and soaked in icy, bloody water, he is unable to speak, leaving Lane at a loss. What series of events brought him to this grisly fate?Darling and Ames are quick to pick up the case, but leads are few until Angela's young son finds an unsettling clue on the beach—a bright red swastika lapel pin—that points to the National Unity Party of Canada. When the anonymous man succumbs to his injuries, Darling and Lane are thrown headlong into a murder investigation with ties to the old country.Fans of Maisie Dobbs, Bess Crawford, and the ever-popular Kopp Sisters will be enchanted by Lane Winslow, a clever, no-nonsense sleuth based on the author's own mother, who was a wartime spy.