A Stone Of Hope: A Memoir

Hardcover | July 4, 2017

byJim St. Germain, Jon Sternfeld

not yet rated|write a review

In the tradition of The Other Wes Moore and Just Mercy, a searing memoir and clarion call to save our at-risk youth by a young black man who himself was a lost cause—until he landed in a rehabilitation program that saved his life and gave him purpose.

Born into abject poverty in Haiti, young Jim St. Germain moved to Brooklyn’s Crown Heights, into an overcrowded apartment with his family. He quickly adapted to street life and began stealing, dealing drugs, and growing increasingly indifferent to despair and violence. By the time he was arrested for dealing crack cocaine, he had been handcuffed more than a dozen times. At the age of fifteen the walls of the system were closing around him.

But instead of prison, St. Germain was placed in "Boys Town," a nonsecure detention facility designed for rehabilitation. Surrounded by mentors and positive male authority who enforced a system based on structure and privileges rather than intimidation and punishment, St. Germain slowly found his way, eventually getting his GED and graduating from college. Then he made the bravest decision of his life: to live, as an adult, in the projects where he had lost himself, and to work to reform the way the criminal justice system treats at-risk youth.

A Stone of Hope is more than an incredible coming-of-age story; told with a degree of candor that requires the deepest courage, it is also a rallying cry. No one is who they are going to be—or capable of being—at sixteen. St. Germain is living proof of this. He contends that we must work to build a world in which we do not give up on a swath of the next generation.

Passionate, eloquent, and timely, illustrated with photographs throughout, A Stone of Hope is an inspiring challenge for every American, and is certain to spark debate nationwide.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$31.14
$34.99 list price save 11%
Pre-order online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

In the tradition of The Other Wes Moore and Just Mercy, a searing memoir and clarion call to save our at-risk youth by a young black man who himself was a lost cause—until he landed in a rehabilitation program that saved his life and gave him purpose.Born into abject poverty in Haiti, young Jim St. Germain moved to Brooklyn’s Crown Hei...

Jim St. Germain is the co-founder of Preparing Leaders of Tomorrow, Inc. (PLOT), a nonprofit organization that provides mentoring to at-risk youth, and a member of the Vera Institute of Justice. He works as a Residential Care Advocate for the Office of Advocacy at the Administration for Children’s Services (ACS), and lives in Brooklyn,...

other books by Jim St. Germain

A Stone Of Hope: A Memoir
A Stone Of Hope: A Memoir

Audio Book (CD)|Jul 4 2017

$46.23$51.95list pricesave 11%
A Stone Of Hope: A Memoir
A Stone Of Hope: A Memoir

Audio Book (CD)|Jul 4 2017

$46.23$51.95list pricesave 11%
Format:HardcoverDimensions:304 pages, 9 × 6 × 1.01 inPublished:July 4, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062458795

ISBN - 13:9780062458797

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of A Stone Of Hope: A Memoir

Reviews