A Stone Of Hope: A Memoir by Jim St. GermainA Stone Of Hope: A Memoir by Jim St. Germain

A Stone Of Hope: A Memoir

byJim St. Germain, Jon Sternfeld

Hardcover | July 4, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$27.61 online 
$34.99 list price save 21%
Earn 138 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

In the tradition of The Other Wes Moore and Just Mercy, a searing memoir and clarion call to save our at-risk youth by a young black man who himself was a lost cause—until he landed in a rehabilitation program that saved his life and gave him purpose.

Born into abject poverty in Haiti, young Jim St. Germain moved to Brooklyn’s Crown Heights, into an overcrowded apartment with his family. He quickly adapted to street life and began stealing, dealing drugs, and growing increasingly indifferent to despair and violence. By the time he was arrested for dealing crack cocaine, he had been handcuffed more than a dozen times. At the age of fifteen the walls of the system were closing around him.

But instead of prison, St. Germain was placed in "Boys Town," a nonsecure detention facility designed for rehabilitation. Surrounded by mentors and positive male authority who enforced a system based on structure and privileges rather than intimidation and punishment, St. Germain slowly found his way, eventually getting his GED and graduating from college. Then he made the bravest decision of his life: to live, as an adult, in the projects where he had lost himself, and to work to reform the way the criminal justice system treats at-risk youth.

A Stone of Hope is more than an incredible coming-of-age story; told with a degree of candor that requires the deepest courage, it is also a rallying cry. No one is who they are going to be—or capable of being—at sixteen. St. Germain is living proof of this. He contends that we must work to build a world in which we do not give up on a swath of the next generation.

Passionate, eloquent, and timely, illustrated with photographs throughout, A Stone of Hope is an inspiring challenge for every American, and is certain to spark debate nationwide.

Jim St. Germain is the co-founder of Preparing Leaders of Tomorrow, Inc. (PLOT), a nonprofit organization that provides mentoring to at-risk youth, and a member of the Vera Institute of Justice. He works as a Residential Care Advocate for the Office of Advocacy at the Administration for Children’s Services (ACS), and lives in Brooklyn,...
Loading
Title:A Stone Of Hope: A MemoirFormat:HardcoverDimensions:304 pages, 9 × 6 × 1.01 inPublished:July 4, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062458795

ISBN - 13:9780062458797

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good read! I really enjoyed reading this book, I love anything based on actual true life. Reading Jim's story was very interesting, I loved hearing the story of his struggle and amazing success! It is awesome how he changed his life around and did school and helps so many people. People like that are so strong. I wish there was a little but more emotion in the book but it was a very good read
Date published: 2017-10-30

Editorial Reviews

“Which, on reflection, feels true. Life is not a training montage from a “Rocky” movie. It is trial and error, setback and achievement. So if you graphed St. Germain’s progress from what he was to what he is, the resulting line might resemble the stock exchange during a bull market — jagged but rising.”