A Thousand Beginnings And Endings by Ellen OhA Thousand Beginnings And Endings by Ellen Oh

A Thousand Beginnings And Endings

byEllen Oh, Elsie Chapman

Hardcover | June 26, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$21.34 online 
$21.99 list price
Earn 107 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Star-crossed lovers, meddling immortals, feigned identities, battles of wits, and dire warnings: these are the stuff of fairy tale, myth, and folklore that have drawn us in for centuries.

Fifteen bestselling and acclaimed authors reimagine the folklore and mythology of East and South Asia in short stories that are by turns enchanting, heartbreaking, romantic, and passionate.

Compiled by We Need Diverse Books’s Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman, the authors included in this exquisite collection are: Renée Ahdieh, Sona Charaipotra, Preeti Chhibber, Roshani Chokshi, Aliette de Bodard, Melissa de la Cruz, Julie Kagawa, Rahul Kanakia, Lori M. Lee, E. C. Myers, Cindy Pon, Aisha Saeed, Shveta Thakrar, and Alyssa Wong.

A mountain loses her heart. Two sisters transform into birds to escape captivity. A young man learns the true meaning of sacrifice. A young woman takes up her mother’s mantle and leads the dead to their final resting place.

From fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge, these stories will beguile readers from start to finish. For fans of Neil Gaiman’s Unnatural Creatures and Ameriie’s New York Times–bestselling Because You Love to Hate Me.

Title:A Thousand Beginnings And EndingsFormat:HardcoverDimensions:336 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.09 inPublished:June 26, 2018Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062671154

ISBN - 13:9780062671158

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from super fun Some of the stories felt like a little piece from a larger story and didn't have a very satisfactory ending, but I really liked the adventure of most of these. So happy to see diverse characters and authors trying to bring more authentic culture and language to the mainstream media
Date published: 2018-08-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Alright It was a good book, I enjoyed the story line, but a little too twilight with VC Andrews to it
Date published: 2018-08-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Captivating and Tragic I'm not as well versed in Asian folklore or myths as I'd like to be, but this book makes me crave more! While not every story resonated with me and there were more sad endings than happy, I definitely enjoyed the way some stories were told and the author notes/myth origins that followed them. My favourite stories were from Roshani Chokshi, Julia Kagawa, Aisha Saeed, and Cindy Pon. Many of the stories were told by strong female characters, and while most of the stories were told in a historical setting, some were written in a modern and even futuristic setting. There were some stories where I couldn't quite follow all the language (I'm a white girl who can only speak English), but it didn't really take me out of those given stories, and honestly, it's so great to have a book in my library that collects both fiction and Asian lore. Representation FTW! So if you're big into mythology and retellings, or just looking for something different to add to your library, this is a collection you'll enjoy!
Date published: 2018-06-26

Editorial Reviews

“Fifteen acclaimed Asian and Asian-American authors breathe fresh life into 15 popular Asian folktales and myths, elevating this anthology to a higher level...Oh and Chapman have created a work that celebrates Asian storytelling. It should fill...the reader with wonder.”