A True Princess by Diane ZahlerA True Princess by Diane Zahler

A True Princess

byDiane Zahler

Paperback | January 31, 2012

Pricing and Purchase Info

$8.10 online 
$8.29 list price
Earn 41 plum® points
Quantity:

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

Lilia must save her best friend, Kai, from a terrible enchantment caused by their perilous encounter with the Elf King and his beautiful daughter. The only way for Lilia to break the spell is to find a mysterious jewel of ancient power hidden somewhere in the North Kingdoms. But the jewel will not be easy to find. The castle where it lies is caught up in a different kind of search—the search for a true princess!

Diane Zahler is the author ofThe Thirteenth Princess,A True Princess, andPrincess of the Wild Swans. Her books have been praised for their "delicious descriptions" (Kirkus Reviews) and their "gratifying depth" (Publishers Weekly). Diane lives with her husband in New York's Harlem Valley, in an old farmhouse held together by magic spell...
Loading
Title:A True PrincessFormat:PaperbackDimensions:208 pages, 7.62 × 5.12 × 0.47 inPublished:January 31, 2012Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061825034

ISBN - 13:9780061825033

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from A retelling of "The Princess and the Pea" Maybe even 3.5 stars. Since "The Princess and the Pea" is a fairy tale without much detail, authors who retell it have to supply a great deal of their own. Zahler infuses Norse folklore and other conflicts and subplots into the story, giving it dimension and a more epic, higher-key feel. The novel still pretty tame and could have been better developed if it were allowed twice as many pages. Still, it has a lighthearted version of a fairy tale atmosphere and is a sweet story.
Date published: 2017-01-27

Editorial Reviews

“Readers who enjoyed Gail Carson Levine’s Ella Enchanted, Zahler’s The Thirteenth Princess or E.D. Baker’s “Tales of the Frog Princess” series will also relish this tale.”