A Year With Hafiz: Daily Contemplations by Daniel HafizA Year With Hafiz: Daily Contemplations by Daniel Hafiz

A Year With Hafiz: Daily Contemplations

byDaniel HafizTranslated byDaniel LadinskyIntroduction byDaniel Ladinsky

Paperback | November 2, 2011

Pricing and Purchase Info

$26.21 online 
$27.00 list price
Earn 131 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores


Daniel Ladinsky’s stunning interpretations of 365 soul-nurturing poems—one for each day of the year—by treasured Persian lyric poet Hafiz

The poems of Hafiz are masterpieces of sacred poetry that nurture the heart, soul, and mind. With learned insight and a delicate hand, Daniel Ladinsky explores the many emotions addressed in these verses. His renderings, presented here in 365 poignant poemsincluding a section based on the translations of Hafiz by Ralph Waldo Emerson—capture the compelling wisdom of one of the most revered Sufi poets. Intimate and often spiritual, these poems are beautifully sensuous, playful, wacky, and profound, and provide guidance for everyday life, as well as deep wisdom to savor through a lifetime.
Daniel Ladinsky has published four collections of poems by the great Sufi poet Hafiz: A Year with Hafiz, The Gift, The Subject Tonight Is Love, and I Heard God Laughing. His most recent collection is The Purity of Desire: 100 Poems of Rumi. For six years, he made his home in a spiritual community in western India, where he worked and l...
Title:A Year With Hafiz: Daily ContemplationsFormat:PaperbackDimensions:448 pages, 8.3 × 5.65 × 1.1 inPublished:November 2, 2011Publisher:Penguin Publishing GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0143117548

ISBN - 13:9780143117544

Look for similar items by category:


Rated 5 out of 5 by from Touching awesome! This goes to all poet for poets. Grab and read! :-)
Date published: 2013-06-18

Editorial Reviews

Praise for Daniel Ladinsky’s work with Hafiz

“A fine and stirring new presentation of one of the world’s great poets.” —Patricia Monaghan, Booklist