The Perilous Sea by Sherry ThomasThe Perilous Sea by Sherry Thomas

The Perilous Sea

bySherry Thomas

Hardcover | September 16, 2014

Pricing and Purchase Info

$20.16 online 
$21.99 list price save 8%
Earn 101 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

Iolanthe and Titus continue their mission to defeat the Bane in this striking sequel to The Burning Sky—perfect for fans of Cinda Williams Chima and Kristin Cashore—which Publishers Weekly called "a wonderfully satisfying magical saga" in a starred review and Kirkus Reviews said "bids fair to be the next big epic fantasy success."

After spending the summer away from each other, Titus and Iolanthe (still disguised as Archer Fairfax) are eager to return to Eton College to resume their training to fight the Bane. Although no longer bound to Titus by blood oath, Iolanthe is more committed than ever to fulfilling her destiny—especially with the agents of Atlantis quickly closing in.

Soon after arriving at school, though, Titus makes a shocking discovery, one that throws into question everything he believed about their mission. Faced with this revelation, Iolanthe struggles to come to terms with her new role, while Titus must choose between following his mother's prophecies—or forging a divergent path to an unknowable future.

Sherry Thomas is the author ofThe Burning SkyandThe Perilous Sea, the first two books in the Elemental Trilogy. Sherry immigrated to the United States from China when she was thirteen and taught herself English in part by devouring science fiction and romance novels. She is the author of several acclaimed romance novels and is the reci...
Loading
Title:The Perilous SeaFormat:HardcoverDimensions:432 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.33 inPublished:September 16, 2014Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062207326

ISBN - 13:9780062207326

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay This book wasn't as good as the first one. It was super confusing with the constant switch between places and times. It doesn't make any sense until the ending. in order to truly understand what on earth is going on, you have to read it a second time.
Date published: 2017-04-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great book This series is awesome, and this book had me incredibly worried at the beginning. After that heart attack brought on by the first chapter, the rest of it was a bit of a disappointment, really. I guess that's the only thing I don't like about this series. There's everything to love - great characters, awesome humor, moments of hilarity, moments of heartfelt emotion, awesome world building, and a solid sense of adventure and intrigue. Yet everything is a bit understated, which may be part of it's charm, but is kind of disappointing at times. In both the first book and this, the second one, the ending scene felt like little more than a continuation of the rest of the book, rather than a proper climax to everything that's happened. It's rather anticlimactic. (view spoiler) But still, I loved it, especially the characters, and here's hoping it will only get better.
Date published: 2016-12-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So Much Depth! Wow, what a sequel. Normally I'm not big on memory-loss stories, but I really enjoyed the two different directions the story took. Titus and Fairfax were back and better than ever, growing into better, stronger characters, and I really liked how much deeper into the world we were able to go. There really was no telling where the story was going to go next, and it's been set up for one hell of a conclusion. Can't wait to read it!
Date published: 2016-11-24

Editorial Reviews

“A fantastic adventure filled with sneaky spies, all kinds of magic, and a whole bunch of unexpected surprises.”