Everyone's A Aliebn When Ur A Aliebn Too: A Book by Jomny SunEveryone's A Aliebn When Ur A Aliebn Too: A Book by Jomny Sun

Everyone's A Aliebn When Ur A Aliebn Too: A Book

byJomny Sun

Hardcover | June 27, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.91 online 
$19.99 list price save 15%
Earn 85 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores


everyone’s a aliebn when ur a aliebn too is the illustrated story of a lonely alien sent to observe Earth, only to meet all sorts of creatures with all sorts of perspectives on life, love, and happiness, all while learning to feel a little better about being an alien—based on the enormously popular Twitter account, @jonnysun.

Here is the unforgettable story of Jomny, a lonely alien who, for the first time ever, finds a home on our planet after learning that earthlings can feel lonely too. Jomny finds friendship in a bear tired of other creatures running away in fear, an egg struggling to decide what to hatch into, an owl working its way to being wise, a tree feeling stuck in one place, a tadpole coming to terms with turning into a frog, a dying ghost, a puppy unable to express itself, and many more.

Through this story of a lost, lonely and confused alien finding friendship, acceptance, and love among the creatures of Earth, we will all learn how to be a little more human. And for all of us earth-bound creatures here on this planet, we can all be reminded that sometimes, it takes an outsider to help us see ourselves for who we truly are.


Jonathan Sun is the author behind @jonnysun. When he isn’t tweeting, he is an architect, designer, engineer, artist, playwright and comedy writer. His work across multiple disciplines broadly addresses narratives of human experience. As a playwright, Jonathan’s work has been performed at the Yale School of Drama, and in Toronto at Hart...
Title:Everyone's A Aliebn When Ur A Aliebn Too: A BookFormat:HardcoverDimensions:304 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.09 inPublished:June 27, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062569023

ISBN - 13:9780062569028

Look for similar items by category:


Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute On the surface it's a cute little tale of an alien being left behind on Earth to study humans. He meets and talks with all the creatures of the Earth believing them to be human. In such simple pictures and few words the author tells the story with such a deep meaning. All the actions and thoughts and feelings that we experience as humans are brought to life through cute little creatures.
Date published: 2018-02-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super cute, both simple and deep This is such a unique and hard to describe read. Jonny Sun created a wonderful piece of art with this that anyone can enjoy and gain from. I love the adorable illustrations on each page, and the complex truths that are conveyed as simply as possible. It is not a structured, chronological story, but rather an effortlessly gorgeous collection of pictures, stories, lessons, and truths. A truly beautiful and memorable read I will revisit in the future.
Date published: 2018-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An unexpectedly deep and profound little gem. I bought this book as a gift for a friend after flipping through a few pages in the physical Chapters store. In a nutshell: purchased book, went home to proceed to wrap the book Pinterest-style (as you would), ended up spending about an hour and half reading through the whole book before wrapping it up. Now I want a copy for myself because I love it so much. In that one and a half hour that I spent reading through the pages and admiring the cute illustrations, I went through a plethora of emotions. It tug on my heart strings and even made me shed a tear or two. I loved the nod to the Giving Tree. Oh yeah, my friend is enjoying it too.
Date published: 2017-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from so cute I loved it! its an adorable story for all ages. No matter who you are, I can almost guarantee you will connect, painfully or not, to one of the characters. Every once in a while you come across a certain page, and you just feel like it gets you. I would recommend this book to anyone; you can never be too old for the amount of emotions Jonny sun is able to evoke with simple sentences and empty spaces amongst the colourful black and white characters he's created
Date published: 2017-12-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Adorable! Such a cute, but thought provoking little book!
Date published: 2017-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Underrated! I only discovered this via my suggested items and so glad I did! Insightful, cute, well-illustrated and accessible to all ages. I highly highly recommend this if you're into shel silverstein
Date published: 2017-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm in love! This is one of the cutest, most touching illustrated books I have ever read! I love that this touches on a lot of things we humans tend to ignore or not admit. Add a little humour to the truth and of course we'd be more receptive.
Date published: 2017-11-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute book I had never seen the author's twitter account before, but this book was cute and the topics raised were very touching and even thought provoking, yet presented in a simple way. The illustrations effectively accompanied the message as well. Quick and fun read.
Date published: 2017-11-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Me an aliebn, you an aliebn, we an aliebn I live under a rock and had never heard of Jonny Sun's Twitter account. After checking it out, I'm a fan of the intellectual wit and the succinctness of what he packs into a tweet. That as a long-form comic, however, slightly loses it's appeal. There are some very tender moments and illuminating ideas, but I occasionally found it jumbled and half-baked. It's very much the aliebn version of "The Little Prince" - our protagonist observes and remarks upon the life beyond his and along the way, learns more about himself and the universe. It's a big idea book told very simplistically and innocently, one that you would either relate to or be confused by. As a whole, this did strike a chord with me. I can't help but be a little disappointed by the promise of some big (and funny) revelation that I don't know why I thought I was going to find here. Regardless, I'll always remember Jomny and the wisdom he imparts. Hopefully, we get to see this aliebn starring in his own animated short film someday... I'd like that.
Date published: 2017-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome! I came across this book being discussed on Twitter and it seemed to loom large in some of the geekier circles, so I couldn't resist check it out. I am SO GLAD I did. It's an immediate classic in the vein of Shel Silverstein and Dr Suess-simple and poignant and much much deeper than you assume. It seems, at first glance, that it is a children's book-all smiles and lightness, but there is an underlying current of the darker side of life including a wonderful nod to the Giving Tree that just immediately drew me in. It is really quite wonderful for anyone of all ages.
Date published: 2017-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So cute and insightful I finished this book in half an hour and it made me want to laugh and cry all at once. This book deals with friendship, identity and mortality in the most beautiful way.
Date published: 2017-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So good!!!! This graphic novel is so great! It's simple yet provides direction for such complex issues.
Date published: 2017-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE!!! Adorable, funny, feel good book. Everyone should read. #plumreview
Date published: 2017-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing book this book made me a better person
Date published: 2017-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great!! Simple but beautifully written. The messages really makes you think.
Date published: 2017-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from In Love I can't remember loving something so quickly and easily. I really can't fully explain why I think this is so amazing but I can definitely say it is a must read.
Date published: 2017-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Bought this yesterday because I fell in love with the style after only reading the first few pages. It's not only funny but makes you think and also tugs at your heart stings. Highly recommend!
Date published: 2017-06-24

Editorial Reviews

Impressively sincere, at times insightful, and humorous…. Sun’s fans will welcome his first book with wild enthusiasm…