We found {count} results

 
You're looking at:
  1. Books
  2. History
Additional Filters:

Showing 1 - 12 of 3812435 Results

Trade Paperback

$22.95

In stock online

Available in stores

Kingmakers is the gripping story of how the modern Middle East came to be, as told through the lives of the Britons and Americans who shaped it. Some are famous (Lawrence of Arabia and Gertrude Bell); others infamous (Harry St. John Philby, father of Kim); some forgotten (Sir Mark Sykes,…read more

Trade Paperback

$15.00

$23.00

save 34%

In stock online

Available in stores

#1 New York Times Bestseller From the bestselling author and master of narrative nonfiction comes the enthralling story of the sinking of the Lusitania On May 1, 1915, with WWI entering its tenth month, a luxury ocean liner as richly appointed as an English country house sailed out of New…read more

In stock online

Available in stores

Edith Hahn was an outspoken young woman in Vienna when the Gestapo forced her into a ghetto and then into a slave labor camp. When she returned home months later, she knew she would become a hunted woman and went underground. With the help of a Christian friend, she emerged in Munich as Grete…read more

Trade Paperback

$13.75

$22.99

save 40%

In stock online

Available in stores

In the tradition of Elie Wiesel’s Night and Primo Levi’s Survival in Auschwitz comes a new memoir by Canadian survivor More than 70 years after the Nazi camps were liberated by the Allies, a new Canadian Holocaust memoir details the rural Hungarian deportations to Auschwitz-Birkenau,…read more

Trade Paperback

$15.00

$22.00

save 31%

In stock online

Available in stores

Destined to become a modern classic in the vein of Guns, Germs, and Steel , Sapiens is a lively, groundbreaking history of humankind told from a unique perspective.      100,000 years ago, at least six species of human inhabited the earth. Today there is just one.…read more

In stock online

Available in stores

On an icy morning in Paris in January 1943, 230 French women resisters were rounded up from the Gestapo detention camps and sent on a train to Auschwitz--the only train, in the four years of German occupation, to take women of the Resistance to a death camp. The youngest was a schoolgirl of 15,…read more

Hardcover

$20.59

$32.50

save 36%

In stock online

Available in stores

#1 New York Times Bestseller From the bestselling author and master of narrative nonfiction comes the enthralling story of the sinking of the Lusitania On May 1, 1915, with WWI entering its tenth month, a luxury ocean liner as richly appointed as an English country house sailed out of New…read more

Hardcover

$24.39

$34.00

save 28%

In stock online

Available in stores

A gripping, fast-paced account of the life of the indigenous man who founded and led the Indian Posse, one of the most dangerous gangs in North America, into violence, power, and infamy. In 2008, Daniel Richard Wolfe was awaiting trial on two counts of first-degree murder at the Regina…read more

Hardcover

$36.46

$47.00

save 22%

In stock online

Available in stores

The Romanovs were the most successful dynasty of modern times, ruling a sixth of the world’s surface for three centuries. How did one family turn a war-ruined principality into the world’s greatest empire? And how did they lose it all?   This is the intimate story of twenty tsars…read more

In stock online

Available in stores

Erik Larson—author of #1 bestseller IN THE GARDEN OF BEASTS—intertwines the true tale of the 1893 World's Fair and the cunning serial killer who used the fair to lure his victims to their death. Combining meticulous research with nail-biting storytelling, Erik Larson has crafted a…read more

Trade Paperback

$26.65

$29.95

save 11%

In stock online

Available in stores

Following the immense success of Tough Crimes: True Cases by Top Canadian Criminal Lawyers, SHRUNK is the second book in Durvile Publications’ ‘True Cases Series’. SHRUNK: Crime and Disorders of the Mind is a collection of powerful chapters by eminent Canadian and international forensic…read more

In stock online

Available in stores

Rich with dark and light, pain and magic, The Inconvenient Indian distills the insights gleaned from Thomas King's critical and personal meditation on what it means to be "Indian" in North America, weaving the curiously circular tale of the relationship between non-Natives and Natives in the…read more