Afraid of the Dark by James GrippandoAfraid of the Dark by James Grippando

Afraid of the Dark

byJames Grippando

Mass Market Paperback | December 27, 2011

Pricing and Purchase Info

$11.99

Earn 60 plum® points

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

“Grippando has definitely reached a new level with this series entry. . . . One of his best.” —Booklist (starred review)

A young girl’s murder sets off a grisly cascade of crime, death, and intrigue—and sends criminal defense lawyer Jack Swyteck after a sinister group of terrorists on the verge of unleashing chaos across the globe. From New York Times bestseller James Grippando, the ninth Jack Swyteck novel, Afraid of the Dark—perfect for fans of Steve Martini, Phillip Margolin, and Jo Nesbo—is a rollercoaster thrill ride into the very heart of evil.

James Grippando is aNew York Timesbestselling author of suspense.Cash Landingis his twenty-third novel. James Grippando was a trial lawyer for twelve years before the publication of his first novel in 1994 (The Pardon), and he now serves as counsel to Boies, Schiller & Flexner LLP. He lives in south Florida with his wife, three childre...
Leapholes: Leapholes
Leapholes: Leapholes

by James Grippando

$18.64$20.95

In stock online

Not available in stores

Most Dangerous Place: A Jack Swyteck Novel
Most Dangerous Place: A Jack Swyteck Novel

by James Grippando

$28.69$33.50

In stock online

Available in stores

The Abduction
The Abduction

by James Grippando

$11.99

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Not available in stores

Shop this author
Title:Afraid of the DarkFormat:Mass Market PaperbackDimensions:528 pages, 7.5 × 4.19 × 1.19 inPublished:December 27, 2011Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061840297

ISBN - 13:9780061840296

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Afraid of the Dark

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Action packed Afraid of the Dark by James Grippando is the ninth book in his Jack Swytek series. (and 18th book overall) Swytek is a criminal defense attorney based in Miami. He is called in by an old friend to help with the defense of a young man who has been in Gitmo for 3 years. His true identity is uncovered - he is not a Somalian, but rather an American named Jamal - a young man wanted in the U.S. for the murder of his girlfriend and the blinding of the cop who tried to save her. But he says he was in a black site camp in the Czech Republic at the time and couldn't have done it. And the US government put him there. That's the opening salvo - from there the plot grows exponentially, including terrorism both home and abroad, child porn and more. (Some readers may find the graphic violence a bit too much) I like Swytek as a character and the series has always been a satisfying read. Afraid of the Dark was very, very busy in terms of plot - perhaps a bit too much. Grippando was ambitious with this one - I think Swytek being involved at the international level is a bit of a stretch. But the plot elements are very real and very current. This was a good, thrilling page turner - exactly what I've come to expect from James Grippando. Fans of David Baldacci would enjoy this author.
Date published: 2011-04-15

Editorial Reviews

“Grippando powerfully weaves Afraid of the Dark into a noir look at the fears that seep into each corner of society….Grippando has proven his skills with edge-of-your-seat thrillers. Afraid of the Dark may be his most gripping novel.”