After Number 10: Former Prime Ministers in British Politics by K. TheakstonAfter Number 10: Former Prime Ministers in British Politics by K. Theakston

After Number 10: Former Prime Ministers in British Politics

byK. Theakston

Hardcover | May 7, 2010

Pricing and Purchase Info

$132.29 online 
$149.50 list price save 11%
Earn 661 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


Having lost an election, been thrown out by their party, or retired on grounds of ill-health, what do former British prime ministers do? In the first book to look at the lives, political roles and influence of former prime ministers, Kevin Theakston offers a comprehensive analysis of all the former prime ministers from Robert Walpole in the 18th century to Tony Blair today. This lively and informative book will appeal to those interested in British history as well as in contemporary politics. "You are very ex as an ex-prime minister", it has been said. "The telephone goes and immediately you think, Oh goodness me, the United Nations is sitting", Margaret Thatcher admitted. "Then you realize that it's no longer you any more." Some former prime ministers fade into the background, but others have continued to play a significant role in politics – sometimes constructively, but sometimes quite the reverse. Some enhance their reputations after they leave Number 10, but others damaged their reputations badly. This book sheds new light on the people who have held the highest office in British government.
KEVIN THEAKSTON is Professor of British Government at the University of Leeds, UK and is a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society. His previous books include: Leadership in Whitehall (1999), Winston Churchill and the British Constitution (2004), and (edited) British Foreign Secretaries Since 1974 (2004).
Title:After Number 10: Former Prime Ministers in British PoliticsFormat:HardcoverDimensions:320 pagesPublished:May 7, 2010Publisher:Palgrave Macmillan UKLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0230202187

ISBN - 13:9780230202184


Table of Contents

Walpole to Shelburne
Addington to Melbourne
Peel to Rosebery
Salisbury to Asquith
LLoyd George to Chamberlain
Attlee to Douglas-Home
Heath to Callaghan
Thatcher to Blair
Comparative Perspectives