After The End

Paperback | May 5, 2015

byAmy Plum

not yet rated|write a review

Michael Grant's Gone series meets M. Night Shyamalan's The Village in this riveting story of one girl's journey to save the very people who have lied to her for her entire life. Amy Plum, international bestselling author of the Die for Me series, delivers a fast-paced adventure perfect for fans of Marie Lu, Veronica Rossi, and Robison Wells.

Juneau grew up fearing the outside world. The elders told her that beyond the borders of their land in the Alaskan wilderness, nuclear war had destroyed everything. But when Juneau returns from a hunting trip one day and discovers her people have been abducted, she sets off to find them. And leaving the boundaries for the very first time, she learns the horrifying truth: World War III never happened. Nothing was destroyed. Everything she'd ever been taught was a lie.

As Juneau comes to terms with an unfathomable deception, she is forced to survive in a completely foreign world, using only the skills and abilities she developed in the wild. But while she's struggling to rescue her friends and family, someone else is after her. Someone who knows the extraordinary truth about her secret past.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$11.78 online
$12.50 list price (save 5%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

Michael Grant's Gone series meets M. Night Shyamalan's The Village in this riveting story of one girl's journey to save the very people who have lied to her for her entire life. Amy Plum, international bestselling author of the Die for Me series, delivers a fast-paced adventure perfect for fans of Marie Lu, Veronica Rossi, and Robison ...

From the Jacket

"I have no idea what is truth and what is fiction. I'm all I've got now. I can't trust anyone."Juneau grew up fearing the outside world. Nuclear war ravaged everything beyond the borders of her land—at least that's what she had always been taught. But when Juneau returns from a hunting trip and discovers that everyone in her clan has b...

Amy Plum is the international bestselling author ofAfter the Endand the Die for Me series. She spent her childhood in Birmingham, Alabama, her twenties in Chicago and Paris, and several more years in London, New York, and the Loire Valley. Now she lives in Paris and swears she'll never move again.

other books by Amy Plum

Until the Beginning
Until the Beginning

Paperback|May 3 2016

$9.70 online$12.50list price(save 22%)
Die for Me
Die for Me

Paperback|Apr 3 2012

$9.58 online$10.99list price(save 12%)
If I Should Die
If I Should Die

Paperback|Apr 8 2014

$11.93 online$12.50list price
see all books by Amy Plum
Format:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.79 inPublished:May 5, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062225618

ISBN - 13:9780062225610

Customer Reviews of After The End

Reviews

Rated 2 out of 5 by from Review from Book Nerd Canada This started off with a bang, and then it fizzled out for me. I thought I was going to be reading about the baddies who went through all this trouble to segregate a small group of people and then find out they had sinister goals. Well THAT was there, but it wasn't the main focus. I honestly thought it was a romance novel with a post-apocalyptic setting. Thought it was unnecessary and wasn't too vital with the entire plot. Then there was the fact that this adventure or journey or whatever you wanted to call it, was boring. I was waiting for something or anything to happen, but I felt nothing for the characters. I liked the fact that finally, there is a character who is half Chinese and American. That made me drop some diversity points along the way. Yay for highlighting people of other ethnicities! The simple magical element made it interesting, but it wasn't strong enough for me to even consider reading the rest of the series. Good concept but not a whole lot of movement in the plot points which made me cringe at certain moments. If you're looking for a sci-fi novel, look elsewhere, because I was bored and forced myself to finish this.
Date published: 2016-01-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An Engrossing Tale "After the End" is a science fiction- fantasy with a dash of romance, mystery and the paranormal. It begins in Denali, Alaska when Juneau Newhaven's clan vanishes while she's away on a hunting trip. Believing that there is nothing but a vast wilderness beyond her village after World War III, a nuclear explosion, radiation fallout, famine and genocide decimated humanity Juneau is shocked to find that she's been lied to. Navigating an unfamiliar modern-day world to find her family and friends, Juneau heeds a prophetic sign and elicits the aid of Miles Blackwell, knowing he's not to be trusted. Both Juneau and Miles harbour secrets that not only could endanger their mission, but their budding friendship and even their lives. Into a plot filled with lies, betrayal, deceit and mystery are woven elements of devotion, deliverance and friendship as Juneau and Miles discover that truth is stranger than fiction and nothing is what it seems. In a narrative that gets bogged down with more travel than action Amy Plum has interlaced a taste of the paranormal with Yara, the current that moves through all things and which endows its user with not only supernatural ability, freedom from disease but also longevity. The characters are well-developed and realistic in this captivating tale. Seventeen year old Juneau Newhaven is able to conjure and predict future events. A skilled hunter she's a strong leader, perceptive, responsible and mature for her age. As her friendship with Miles blossoms she becomes suspicious, more determined, feisty and brave. Miles Blackwell, the son of a hard-nosed pharmaceutical magnate is troubled, a teen plagued by behavioural issues who yearns for his father's respect and affection. At first he's tactless, rebellious, and nonchalant, but after spending time with Juneau becomes loyal, considerate and committed to a person he first thought was deranged. Once peaceful, loving and dependable, Whittier Graves, the clan sage is deceptive and conniving, a betrayer of all Juneau holds dear. Murray Blackwell is like " a snake, smooth and poisonous", his greed and power- hunger overruling any love he might have for his son. All these characters add drama and energy to this engrossing tale. I did enjoy reading "After the End" which ends with a cliff-hanger that begs for a sequel. I have given this book a 4.0 but expect it's closer to a 3.5. As the series progresses I expect the action and momentum of the plot to heat up and will look for Amy Plum's next book
Date published: 2014-06-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from After the end OK...I'm hooked. Not a teen, but my Granddaughter will love it!
Date published: 2014-05-07

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“This last book does not disappoint. Amy Plum is to be congratulated for her creation of the Revenants. It is a fresh and original mythology. It will be interesting to see what Amy Plum will come up with next.”