After The Woods by Kim SavageAfter The Woods by Kim Savage

After The Woods

byKim Savage

Hardcover | May 30, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$6.00 online 
$20.50 list price save 70%
Earn 30 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

"Statistically speaking, girls like me don't come back when guys like Donald Jessup take us."

Julia knows she beat the odds. She escaped the kidnapper who hunted her in the woods for two terrifying nights that she can't fully remember. Now it's one year later, and a dead girl turns up in those same woods. The terrible memories resurface, leaving Julia in a stupor at awkward moments-in front of gorgeous Kellan MacDougall, for example.

At least Julia's not alone. Her best friend, Liv, was in the woods, too. When Julia got caught, Liv ran away. Is Liv's guilt over leaving Julia the reason she's starving herself? Is hooking up with Shane Cuthbert, an addict with an explosive temper, Liv's way of punishing herself for not having Julia's back? As the devastating truth about Liv becomes clear, Julia realizes the one person she thinks she knows best-Liv-is the person she knows least of all. And that after the woods was just the beginning.

Kim Savage was born in Quincy, Massachusetts, and received her degree in English from Stonehill College. She lives with her husband and three children north of Boston, Massachusetts. After the Woods is her debut novel.
Loading
Title:After The WoodsFormat:HardcoverDimensions:304 pages, 8.55 × 5.79 × 1.03 inPublished:May 30, 2017Publisher:Farrar, Straus and Giroux (Byr)Language:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0374300550

ISBN - 13:9780374300555

Reviews

Rated 1 out of 5 by from So Many Questions I found this book quite interesting in the beginning - it was not what I had expected but caught my attention and made me want to keep reading. The ending however was VERY disappointing - it was very confusing and left you with so many questions. So many character and plot developments were left unanswered. I would not recommend reading this book!
Date published: 2018-05-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Quick read Hmm... I'd say 3-1/2 stars. This is an enjoyable quick weekend read. I loved the writing and the pace. The main character was likeable. I like how the author chose to sneak in bits of the mystery throughout the story rather than a big, blinding reveal at the end (I hate that). Despite that I felt there was something missing, though I'm not sure what. I'll have to think on it a bit longer and update this review later on.
Date published: 2017-11-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Kind of enjoy it. I enjoyed reading the 3/4 of the book. It's just that i find the ending of the story confusing in some way. I have a lot of questions in my head like "why this and that happen?How is it connected?What is this person's purpose in the story?" something like that. But overall it is an okay book.
Date published: 2017-07-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not worth it. Please read. I mainly bought this book because the cover is really gorgeous, and nature compels me to it's beauty. So I bought it, plus the plot sounded interesting. Not only was this book boring, but it had the cheesiest and the most unnecessary love plot, it irritated me to pieces. Do not buy, save your money and read something worthwhile.
Date published: 2017-05-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from What happened in the woods? YA thrillers have become a trend in the publishing world lately, from fall 2015 to now, and from what I've seen, we're going to be getting a lot more in 2016. Being not a huge contemporary fan, I didn't know what to feel about thrillers at first but after loving the first one I read, I hopped on the bandwagon to thrillville. I thought After the Woods would have the same excitement and would leave me sitting on the edge of my seat like many others did, unfortunately that wasn't the case. The first thing I noticed when I started the book, was that the summery didn't give off the same vibe as the book did, or rather you didn't get what you expected when going into the book. Especially when it came to Liv and Julia. Liv was just a terrible person, the fact that Julia would sacrifice so much for this girl made me feel disappointed. The two were described as best friends, and when you think best friends, a person thinks of a close connection between two people that love and care for each other, to me the girls had a one sided relationship. Julia was the only one that really cared for the friendship, Liv was an abusive friend. In the novel Savage wanted to showcase the horrible relationship between Liv and her mother, but really the foul relationship was between Liv and Julia. I never really understood why the body of the other girl was necessary in After the Woods, was it to bring back the original investigation? Why was she relevant? The girl left me with more questions than what I started with. Finally one thing that stood out positively for me was Julia's family situation. It's not often that you read a book were the main characters father was a sperm donor. Or that the sperm donor is actually still close with the family. It was a first time experience for me while reading After the Woods, and I think it would be interesting to see again. After the Woods was not the thriller I was looking for, to someone else it might be, but for now I look forward to the future 2016 thriller releases. http://ohanareads.blogspot.ca/2016/02/book-review-after-woods-by-kim-savage.html
Date published: 2016-04-09

Editorial Reviews

After the Woods: "Savage offers up a mystery wrapped in a psychological breakthrough tied with the bow of lyrical language. The characters are engaging beyond their habitation of an intricately woven plot and supply readers with the motivation to care beyond the simple solving of the mystery. A riveting exploration of what it's like when the enemy is much closer than you suspect." -Kirkus Reviews, starred review"A remarkable, engrossing debut about what it means to be a survivor and the many ways to take control of your own destiny." -Booklist, starred review"An entertaining mystery that will appeal to fans of Law & Order-type plots." -School Library Journal"In her debut novel, After the Woods, Savage tells a story not unfamiliar from the five o'clock news, except this time the viewer is given a more detailed look into the incident. What results is an ability to empathize with the victim but also to fully comprehend the motives of the perpetrator, a man with limited intellect obsessed with an online fantasy world." -VOYA"An intense, dark, staggering debut. Full of lovely writing that casts a serious contrast against the dark plot, this thriller will absolutely keep you guessing until the very end." -PasteMagazine.com