All the King's Men - The Beginning by Donya Lynne

All the King's Men - The Beginning

byDonya Lynne

Kobo ebook | March 23, 2015

Pricing and Purchase Info

$3.99

Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores

about

All the King's Men Series - Book 6

NOTE: This book is a prequel. Reading the first five books of the series will greatly enhance your reading experience of this book.

The All the King's Men Series was GraveTells' Reviewers' Choice for 2013 Series of the Year

"If you've been waiting for the next Black Dagger Brotherhood, this is it…" -GraveTells

Micah Black is a vampire in trouble. He already lost one mate in the Middle Ages and barely survived her passing. Now, he's about to lose another, and this time it could kill him. Except he's not entirely convinced he has actually mated Jackson. Too many questions surround their relationship, because Jackson never returned the mating bond, which makes their pairing an anomaly. Then there's Scarlet, the mysterious and sexy exotic dancer Micah can't forget, who he saw perform for the first time the night he and Jackson met. Micah wishes for one night with Scarlet, which is not the way a mated male is supposed to behave. But for months, as Jackson has slipped further away, Micah hasn't been able to stop thinking about her. If only he had more time, he could explore how he feels for Scarlet, but with Jackson halfway out the door, Micah knows time is one luxury he doesn't have. When Jackson leaves for good and re-opens the emotional chasm Micah fell into after his first mate's death, suffering will claim him, and this time he won't survive. 

In this prequel to the award-winning All the King's Men Series, readers see what occurred in the weeks leading up to the novel, Rise of the Fallen, which was the first in this exciting paranormal series that introduced readers to a new world of vampires and shifters. In Rise of the Fallen, you met Micah and the rest of the alpha males of AKM. Now, see how the pieces aligned to set Micah on his path to self-destruction and eventual resurrection in the story that readers fell in love with. 

All your favorite characters and villains of the first five books are back, and you'll get a glimpse into how the war between the vampires and drecks began, as well as a peek at how the drecks plan to use cobalt to weaken the vampire race. You will also get an intimate glimpse of Tristan's and Josie's love for one another, as well as witness King Bain in his complex roles as leader, father, and mate. Every AKM fan will find something to love in this prequel, which provides vital information to set up the remainder of the series as it winds its way toward the two upcoming sister series, as well as the next generation. 

WARNING: This book contains strong adult content, references to bisexuality, and explicit sexual material.

Recommended for fans of J.R. Ward, Lara Adrian, and Gena Showalter.

Books in this series, in reading order:

  1. Rise of the Fallen
  2. Heart of the Warrior
  3. Micah’s Calling
  4. Rebel Obsession
  5. Return of the Assassin
  6. All the King’s Men - The Beginning
  7. Bound Guardian Angel
  8. BLACK
  9. Micah's Bride

Donya Lynne is the bestselling author of the award winning All the King's Men and Strong Karma Series and a member of Romance Writers of America. Making her home in a wooded suburb north of Indianapolis with her husband, Donya has lived in Indiana most of her life and knew at a young age she was destined to be a writer. She started writing poetry in grade school and won her first short story contest in fourth grade. In junior high, she began writing romantic stories for her friends, and by her sophomore year, she’d been dubbed Most Likely to Become a Romance Novelist. In 2012, she fulfilled her dream by publishing her first two novels and a novella. Her work has earned her two IPPYs, five eLit Awards, a USA Today Recommended Read, and numerous accolades, including two Smashwords bestsellers. When she’s not writing, she can be found cheering on the Indianapolis Colts or doing her cats’ bidding.

Title:All the King's Men - The BeginningFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:March 23, 2015Publisher:Phoenix PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1938991036

ISBN - 13:9781938991035

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4.25 stars--great prequel ALL THE KING’S MEN is the prequel novella to Donya Lynne’s contemporary, erotic adult, All The Kings’ Men paranormal series focusing on a group of vampire warrior’s and their mates. Like many prequel storyline ALL THE KING’S MEN reveals the history behind the war between the Vampires and the Drecks as well as the story leading up to the first instalment Rise of the Fallen. Donya Lynne pulls the reader into a storyline where one couple looks to the future; another couple implodes; and a drug that will send many addicts over the edge. ALL THE KING’S MEN is a storyline that details a vampire male’s ‘suffering’ when the ‘calling’ has been denied. We watch as two allies become combatant enemies when a mated pair is separated by laws and family. Donya also looks deeper into Micah’s history of mating and the reasons he is determined to end his life. Micah is an anomaly within the vampire community but he is also one of the fiercest warriors the AKM has ever known. All of the AKM vampire warriors have a small role within the prequel storyline. From Tristan and Josie’s welcome news to the introduction of Severin into the AKM family. The world building establishes the background and historical significance of the vampire/ dreck war; reveals the beginning and the progress of a drug that is aimed at taking down the vampire species; and a look back at the reasons Micah is the vampire he is today. If you are a fan Donya Lynne’s All the King’s Men paranormal vampire series, then the prequel novella ALL THE KING’S MEN is a must read to help establish a guideline and some background information.
Date published: 2017-02-05