All the Presidents' Bankers: The Hidden Alliances that Drive American Power by Nomi PrinsAll the Presidents' Bankers: The Hidden Alliances that Drive American Power by Nomi Prins

All the Presidents' Bankers: The Hidden Alliances that Drive American Power

byNomi Prins

Hardcover | April 8, 2014

Pricing and Purchase Info

$31.53 online 
$38.00 list price save 17%
Earn 158 plum® points
HURRY, ONLY 1 LEFT!
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

Who rules America?

All the Presidents' Bankersis a groundbreaking narrative of how an elite group of men transformed the American economy and government, dictated foreign and domestic policy, and shaped world history.

Culled from original presidential archival documents,All the Presidents' Bankersdelivers an explosive account of the hundred-year interdependence between the White House and Wall Street that transcends a simple analysis of money driving politics#151;or greed driving bankers.

Prins ushers us into the intimate world of exclusive clubs, vacation spots, and Ivy League universities that binds presidents and financiers. She unravels the multi-generational blood, intermarriage, and protégé relationships that have confined national influence to a privileged cluster of people. These families and individuals recycle their power through elected office and private channels in Washington, DC.

All the Presidents' Bankerssheds new light on pivotal historic events#151;such as why, after the Panic of 1907, America's dominant bankers convened to fashion the Federal Reserve System; how J. P. Morgan's ambitions motivated President Wilson during World War I; how Chase and National City Bank chairmen worked secretly with President Roosevelt to rescue capitalism during the Great Depression while J.P. Morgan Jr. invited Roosevelt's son yachting; and how American financiers collaborated with President Truman to construct the World Bank and IMF after World War II.

Prins divulges how, through the Cold War and Vietnam era, presidents and bankers pushed America's superpower status and expansion abroad, while promoting broadly democratic values and social welfare at home. But from the 1970s, Wall Street's rush to secure Middle East oil profits altered the nature of political-financial alliances. Bankers' profit motive trumped heritage and allegiance to public service, while presidents lost control over the economy#151;as was dramatically evident in the financial crisis of 2008.

This unprecedented history of American power illuminates how the same financiers retained their authoritative position through history, swaying presidents regardless of party affiliation.All the Presidents' Bankersexplores the alarming global repercussions of a system lacking barriers between public office and private power. Prins leaves us with an ominous choice: either we break the alliances of the power elite, or they will break us.
Nomi Prins is a journalist, speaker, respected TV and radio commentator, and former Wall Street executive. Author of five other books, includingOther People's MoneyandIt Takes a Pillage, her writing has been featured in theNew York Times,Fortune,Mother Jones, theGuardian, theNation, and other publications. She is a senior fellow at Dem...
Loading
Title:All the Presidents' Bankers: The Hidden Alliances that Drive American PowerFormat:HardcoverDimensions:544 pages, 9.25 × 6.13 × 0.98 inPublished:April 8, 2014Publisher:PublicaffairsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:156858749X

ISBN - 13:9781568587493

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

"Nomi Prins follows the money. She used to work on Wall Street. And now she has written a seminal history of America's bankers and their symbiotic relationship with all the presidents from Teddy Roosevelt through Barack Obama. It is an astonishing tale. All the Presidents' Bankers relies on the presidential archives to reveal how power works in this American democracy. Prins writes in the tradition of C. Wright Mills, Richard Rovere and William Greider. Her book is a stunning contribution to the history of the American Establishment." —Kai Bird, Pulitzer Prize-winning biographer and author of The Good Spy: The Life and Death of Robert Ames“Nomi Prins takes us on a brisk, panoramic, and eye-opening tour of more than a century's interplay between America's government and its major banks – exposing the remarkable dominance of six major banks, and for most of the period, the same families, over U.S. financial policy.” —Charles R. Morris, author of The Trillion Dollar Meltdown