Almost True Story Of Ryan Fisher: A Novel by Rob StennettAlmost True Story Of Ryan Fisher: A Novel by Rob Stennett

Almost True Story Of Ryan Fisher: A Novel

byRob Stennett

Paperback | June 2, 2008

Pricing and Purchase Info

$13.99

Earn 70 plum® points

Out of stock online

Available in stores

about

Meet Ryan Fisherùa self-assured real estate agent whoÆs looking for an edge in the market.While watching a news special late one night, he sees evangelical Christians raising their hands in worship. ItÆs like theyÆre begging for affordable but classy starter homes.Ryan discovers the Christian business directory and places an ad complete with a Jesus fish. His business doubles in a week.But after visiting an actual church, Ryan realizes that with his business savvy, he could not only plant a churchùhe could create an empire.The Almost True Story of Ryan Fisher is a hilarious, spot-on, and often heartbreaking satire in the tradition of Kurt Vonnegut, Tom Perrotta, and Douglas Adams.
Rob Stennett is the author of two novels: The Almost True Story of Ryan Fisher and The End Is Now. HeÆs the creative director at New Life Church and an accomplished film and theater director. He lives in Colorado.
Homemade Haunting: A Novel
Homemade Haunting: A Novel

by Rob Stennett

$9.99

Available for download

Not available in stores

The End Is Now
The End Is Now

by Rob Stennett

$9.99

Available for download

Not available in stores

Shop this author
Title:Almost True Story Of Ryan Fisher: A NovelFormat:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 8.63 × 5.63 × 0.92 inPublished:June 2, 2008Publisher:ZondervanLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:031027706X

ISBN - 13:9780310277064

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Almost True Story Of Ryan Fisher: A Novel

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

"Screenwriter Stennett offers a satirical look at a non-Christian's ascent to pastor of a megachurch in this engaging, highly readable novel. Ryan Fisher is a 28-year-old real estate agent who doesn't believe in God, but lists himself in the Christian Business Directory (along with a Jesus fish symbol) to beef up sales. He and his wife, Katherine, attend church to validate his new religious image, where he sees the possibilities of utilizing business principles to create his own megachurch. They move to Bartlesville, Okla., and create "The People's Church" where Ryan preaches a feel-good, do-good gospel ("I'm not encumbered by things like the Bible and Jesus"). As church numbers swell, Oprah calls, local pastors are on the warpath, a religious fanatic plots Ryan's assassination, and Katherine is smitten with Cowboy Jack, a karaoke singer-turned-worship leader who pens Christian lyrics to popular radio tunes. Is Ryan in over his head? Interesting narration and Dave Barryesque footnotes make this humorous entertainment with a faith-based message."— Publishers Weekly ()