Althea & Oliver by Cristina Moracho

Althea & Oliver

byCristina Moracho

Paperback | March 8, 2016

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$13.34 online 
$14.99
Earn 67 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

"The bittersweet romance, Oliver’s battle with his illness, and Althea’s coming-of-age struggle should appeal to fans of John Green and Sarah Dessen who are looking for something new." —VOYA

Althea Carter and Oliver McKinley have been best friends since they were six. Now, as their junior year of high school comes to a close, Althea has begun to want something more. Oliver simply wants life to go back to normal, but when he wakes up one morning with no memory of the past three weeks, he can’t deny any longer that something is seriously wrong with him. Then Althea makes the worst decision ever, and her relationship with Oliver is shattered. When he leaves town for a clinical study in New York, she drives up the coast after him, determined to make up for what she’s done.

Cristina Moracho’s extraordinary debut is an achingly real story about identity, illness, and love—and how one decision can change everything.

TIME Magazine Top 10 YA of 2014 ~ An SLJ Best Books of the Year ~ A Booklist Editor's Choice 2014 ~ A Kirkus Reviews Best Books of 2014


"Fans of Rainbow Rowell's Eleanor and Park will enjoy debut author Cristina Moracho’s trip back to the 1990s in Althea and Oliver." —CNN.com

"A gut-wrenching tale." —People

* "Moracho’s coming-of-age story carries rare insight and a keen understanding of those verging on adulthood." —Booklist, starred review

* "Mesmerizing." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

About The Author

This is Cristina Moracho's first novel. She lives in Brooklyn, New York and tweets at @cherielecrivain.
A Good Idea
A Good Idea

by Cristina Moracho

$24.99

In stock online

Available in stores

Una buena idea
Una buena idea

by Cristina Moracho

$14.99

Available for download

Not available in stores

Shop this author

Details & Specs

Title:Althea & OliverFormat:PaperbackDimensions:400 pages, 8.25 × 5.44 × 1 inPublished:March 8, 2016Publisher:Penguin Young Readers GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0142424765

ISBN - 13:9780142424766

Nearby Stores

We found 0 nearby stores

Customer Reviews of Althea & Oliver

Reviews

Extra Content

Read from the Book

“It wasn’t exactly how I pictured it, either,” Althea shouts back. Her legs are shaking. “How do you think I feel? Do you think that’s what I wanted?”            “Then why did you do it?”            Althea stares at him, knowing if he even has to ask, it’s already over, she’s already lost. “I don’t think I could have stopped it. And if you could remember, you would know what I mean, and you would know that I’m right.”            Releasing her, he takes a step back, shaking his head. There’s gravel in his voice, a roughness she’s never heard before. “I’ll tell you what I know. This, you and me, this is all just geography. If it had been some other little girl who grew up down the block from me, I would have been her best friend for ten years, too, until I realized one day that I wasn’t sure I even liked her very much. You’re like an incumbent president that no one can stand but you get reelected anyway, you have the advantage because you’re already in and when someone’s in it’s so much harder to get them out.”

Editorial Reviews

Praise for Althea & Oliver: "The bittersweet romance, Oliver’s battle with his illness, and Althea’s coming-of-age struggle should appeal to fans of John Green and Sarah Dessen who are looking for something new." —VOYA "Fans of Rainbow Rowell's Eleanor and Park will enjoy debut author Cristina Moracho’s trip back to the 1990s in Althea and Oliver." —CNN.com "A gut-wrenching tale." —People "Moracho’s coming-of-age story carries rare insight and a keen understanding of those verging on adulthood." —Booklist, starred review"It is the exquisitely created and painfully real, pitch-perfect characters who make it so memorable." —SLJ, starred review"At turns gritty and gooey, Oliver and Althea’s evolving relationship unfolds in a warts-and-all narration that alternates between the two, deftly capturing the purgatorial crossroads between youth and adulthood . . . Mesmerizing." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review"Can boys and girls really be just friends? This endearing novel explores that, and a whole lot of other things including but not limited to: falling in love, punk rock, circa-’90s NYC, and a very complicated sleep disorder that causes those afflicted to fall asleep for days, weeks, even months at a time." —TeenVogue.com"A gorgeous, glorious, unforgettable novel about punk rock, bad decisions, falling in love, and the messy beauty of growing up. Althea and Oliver is a flawlessly-crafted straight shot to the heart." —Sarah McCarry, author of All Our Pretty Songs "Marrying dazzling prose and sharp-eyed realism, Althea & Oliver is a gritty, sparkling triumph. It's everything a novel is meant to be." —Bennett Madison, author of September Girls"With beautiful language and wrenching, complicated relationship dynamics, Althea & Oliver captures the painful state of longing that is adolescence perfectly." —Corey Ann Haydu, author of OCD Love StoryIt's very rare to come across either a book or two young protagonists as appealing and insightful as Althea & Oliver. Big-hearted and wiseassed and penetratingly smart, they experience growing up as a time machine that's whisked them into a future they don't want, even as they're dying to know what's out there." —Jim Shepard, author of Project X and You Think That's Bad"I can't wait to tell people about this one. It's mind-blowingly good." —Molly Templeton, WORD Books "Even if the book weren’t eloquent and hilarious, it’d be a must-read for all children of the ’90s. But thankfully, it is, and if you’re smart, you’ll run out and grab a copy."  —Bustle"Go buy this book! Read it now!" —Hello GigglesA TIME Magazine Top 10 YA of 2014 An SLJ Best Books of the YearA Booklist Editor's Choice 2014A Kirkus Reviews Best Books of 2014One of TeenVogue.com’s Best YA Books You Should Read This FallOne of CNN.com’s 40 New Titles to Feed Your YA Book Addiction