American Experimental Music 1890-1940 by David NichollsAmerican Experimental Music 1890-1940 by David Nicholls

American Experimental Music 1890-1940

byDavid Nicholls

Paperback | July 26, 1991

Pricing and Purchase Info

$41.56 online 
$59.95 list price save 30%
Earn 208 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


From the end of the nineteenth century a national musical consciousness gradually emerged in the United States as composers began to turn away from the European conventions on which their music had been modeled. It was in this period of change that experimentalism was born and America subsequently became, as it still is, a major source of new musical ideas for European musicians. David Nicholls considers the most influential figures in the development of American experimentalism, including Charles Ives, Charles Seeger, Ruth Crawford, Henry Cowell and the young John Cage. He analyzes the music and ideas of this group, explaining the compositional techniques invented and employed by them and the historical and cultural context in which they emerged. The book is thus an important contribution toward our understanding of some of the most challenging music of the twentieth century.
David Nicholls was born in 1966 in Eastleigh, Hampshire. Nicholls studied English Literature and Drama at the University of Bristol. When he graduated he won a scholarship to study at the American Musical and Dramatic Academy in New York. David appeared in plays at the Battersea Arts Centre, the Finborough, West Yorkshire Playhouse, Bi...
Title:American Experimental Music 1890-1940Format:PaperbackDimensions:252 pages, 9.72 × 6.85 × 0.51 inPublished:July 26, 1991Publisher:Cambridge University Press

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:052142464X

ISBN - 13:9780521424646

Look for similar items by category:


Table of Contents

Preface; Acknowledgements; 1. Introduction: the new and the experimental; 2. In Re Con Moto Et Al: experimentalism in the works of Charles Ives; 3. 'On Dissonant Counterpoint': the development of a new polyphony, primarily by Charles Seeger, Carl Ruggles and Ruth Crawford; 4. New Musical resources: radical innovation in the music of Henry Cowell; 5. 'The Future of Music: Credo': the development of a philosophy of experimentation in the early works of John Cage; 6. Conclusion: unity through diversity; Select bibliography; Appendix: musical editions and selected readings.

Editorial Reviews

"...a coherent guide to the inner workings of compositions by Charles Ives, Charles Seeger, Carl Ruggles, Ruth Crawford, Henry Cowell and John Cage. Nicholls writes eminently readable prose- no small acheivement in an analytic text- and provides insightful findings. Notes