American Street by Ibi ZoboiAmerican Street by Ibi Zoboi

American Street

byIbi Zoboi

Paperback | May 1, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$11.12 online 
$12.50 list price save 11%
Earn 56 plum® points
Quantity:

Pre-order online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not yet available in stores

about

A National Book Award Finalist with five starred reviews!

American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys.

In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture.

On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie—a good life.

But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola’s mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit’s west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own.

Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?

Ibi Zoboi was born in Port-au-Prince, Haiti and holds an MFA in Writing for Children & Young Adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts. Her writing has been published in The New York Times Book Review, the Horn Book Magazine, and The Rumpus, among others. American Street is her debut novel, which received five starred reviews. She now l...
Loading
Title:American StreetFormat:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 9.41 × 7.24 × 0.98 inPublished:May 1, 2018Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062473050

ISBN - 13:9780062473059

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Following in the footsteps of Edwidge Danticat, Zoboi’s young adult debut is equal parts gritty and transcendent.”