American Street by Ibi ZoboiAmerican Street by Ibi Zoboi

American Street

byIbi Zoboi

Paperback | May 1, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 63 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


Pre-order online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not yet available in stores


A National Book Award Finalist with five starred reviews!

A New York Times Notable Book * Publishers Weekly Flying Start * Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year * ALA Booklist Editors' Choice of 2017 (Top of the List winner) * School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Best Book of the Year * BookPage Best YA Book of the Year

American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys.

In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture.

On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie—a good life.

But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola’s mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit’s west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own.

Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?

Ibi Zoboi was born in Port-au-Prince, Haiti and holds an MFA in Writing for Children & Young Adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts. Her writing has been published in The New York Times Book Review, the Horn Book Magazine, and The Rumpus, among others. American Street is her debut novel, which received five starred reviews. She now l...
Title:American StreetFormat:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.79 inPublished:May 1, 2018Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062473050

ISBN - 13:9780062473059


Editorial Reviews

“A refreshing take on a common literary preoccupation, the American dream...fascinating and beautiful.”