Among The Fallen by Virginia Frances SchwartzAmong The Fallen by Virginia Frances Schwartz

Among The Fallen

byVirginia Frances Schwartz

Hardcover | October 8, 2019

Pricing and Purchase Info

$22.33 online 
$22.99 list price
Earn 112 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

Pre-order online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not yet available in stores

about

Sixteen-year-old Orpha is imprisoned for crimes she did not commit, and harboring a terrible secret about her abuser, but an unusual invitation from Charles Dickens to live in a home for fallen women offers hope.

From the infamous Tothill prison, Orpha is haunted by recurring flashbacks of sexual abuse, neglect, exploitation, and the horrors of a Victorian workhouse, but she refuses to be crushed. Her heartbreaking yet inspiring story tells of the resilience and courage needed to make a new life for herself against all odds with the support of the amazing women of Urania cottage and the help of famous author Charles Dickens.

Fans of Laurie Halse Anderson's Fever 1793, Margaret Atwood's Alias Grace, and Katherine Paterson's Lyddie will enjoy this riveting historical fiction title. Schwartz's powerful prose speaks to the terrible things Orpha has endured yet celebrates the emotional and intellectual powers of young women.
Virginia Frances Schwartz grew up in rural Ontario but now lives in Queens, New York, where she taught writing in the public schools before devoting her career to her own writing. She is best known for her novels for young adults which have been ALA Best Books for YAs, and winners of multiple Canadian awards including the Geoffrey Bils...
Loading
Title:Among The FallenFormat:HardcoverProduct dimensions:304 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.98 inShipping dimensions:8.25 × 5.5 × 0.98 inPublished:October 8, 2019Publisher:Holiday HouseLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0823441024

ISBN - 13:9780823441020

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

"Written in 20 chapters to mirror the installments in which Dickens released his novels, this atmospheric story is imbued with the sights, sounds, and smells (or more accurately, odors!) of 19th-century London's rookeries, or slums. Like Dickens, author Schwartz (Crossing to Freedom, 2013, etc.) evokes the moral and political forces of the time; readers, particularly Margaret Atwood fans, will find parallels to the present. This Dickensian #MeToo novel calls out the lingering need for women's rights."—Kirkus Reviews