Among The Fallen

October 8, 2019|
Among The Fallen by Virginia Frances Schwartz
$22.99
Hardcover
Earn 115 plum® points
Ships free on orders over $35

In stock online

Not available in stores

Prices and offers may vary in store

about

Imprisoned for crimes she didn''t commit, sixteen-year-old Orpha accepts an unusual invitation to live in a Victorian home for fallen women-- and finds new hope.

Though haunted by nightmarish flashbacks and withering in the miserable conditions of Tothill prison, an infamous Victorian workhouse, Orpha perseveres, doing what she can to befriend and protect the other girls imprisoned alongside her. She doesn''t speak about what happened-- no one would listen. No one would believe her.

But then a mysterious letter arrives, offering her a place at Urania cottage. This experimental home aims to rehabilitate so-called fallen women-- many of them victims of sexual abuse, suffering not only the trauma of their experiences, but the blame and loss of reputation and livelihood.

It sounds too good to be true-- but with nowhere else to go, Orpha decides to take her chance. Soon she discovers her unknown savior is none other than Charles Dickens, whose writing deals extensively with the plight of the lower class, and whose friendship and guidance offers Orpha a new way to express herself.

With the support of the other women of Urania and the promise of a real future, Orpha will have to confront the darkest parts of her past-- and let go of her secrets.

This atmospheric historical novel, full of heartbreakingly real characters whose lives are all too believable, celebrates the strength and resilience of young women throughout history. Virginia Frances'' Schwartz''s powerful prose, structured to echo Dickens'' serialized style, illuminates an era of startling inequality and extreme poverty. Fans of Laurie Halse Anderson''s Fever 1793, Margaret Atwood''s Alias Grace, and Katherine Paterson''s Lyddie will enjoy this riveting title.

Named to the Amelia Bloomer book List
A Notable Social Studies Trade Book for Young People
Virginia Frances Schwartz grew up in rural Ontario, Canada, but now lives in Queens, New York, where she taught writing in the public schools before devoting her career to her own writing. She is best known for her novels for young adults which have been ALA Best Books for YAs, and winners of multiple Canadian awards including the Geof...
Loading
Title:Among The FallenFormat:HardcoverProduct dimensions:304 pages, 8.55 X 5.67 X 1.03 inShipping dimensions:304 pages, 8.55 X 5.67 X 1.03 inPublished:October 8, 2019Publisher:Holiday HouseLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0823441024

ISBN - 13:9780823441020

Appropriate for ages: All ages

Look for similar items by category: