An Analytical Study on Performance Practices by Yaokun Yang

An Analytical Study on Performance Practices

byYaokun Yang

Kobo ebook | February 20, 2014

Pricing and Purchase Info

$5.39 online 
$5.99 list price save 10%

Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


In this collection of academic essays, award-winning pianist and music professor Yaokun Yang shares her carefully compiled analyses of classical music and aesthetics during several different periods, focusing particularly on the aspect of piano performance practice.

Yang, who devoted six years to her research, offers extensive commentary, historical background, and comparisons of varied composers and their music. The pieces she studies include Beethovens piano sonatas, an advanced piano teaching series, the development of opera in different areas, Bachs Brandenburg concertos, Haydns piano sonatas, the Bach-Busoni Chaconne, Brahmss Intermezzo, Olivier Messiaens Vingt regards sur lenfant-Jsus, Prokofievs piano sonatas, Weberns Six Pieces for Large Orchestra, and Schumanns Piano Concerto.

With this collection of analyses, Yang hopes to provide information and commentary to help contemporary pianists recognize the beauty and the challenges of performing different musical styles in appropriate ways.

Title:An Analytical Study on Performance PracticesFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:February 20, 2014Publisher:Abbott PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1458214265

ISBN - 13:9781458214263