An Unpardonable Crime

March 31, 2004|
An Unpardonable Crime by Andrew Taylor
$42.95
Hardcover
Earn 215 plum® points
Prices and offers may vary in store

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $35

Not available in stores

about

An irresistible literary thriller in the tradition of The Alienist and An Instance of the Fingerpost, set in early 1800s England and involving a young Edgar Allan Poe. Edgar Allan Poe is an American boy in England, a child standing on the edge of mysteries. In 1819, two Americans arrive in London. Soon afterward a bank collapses. A man is found horribly mutilated on a building site and an heiress flirts with her inferiors. All the while, Poe's young schoolmaster struggles to understand what is happening before he and his loved ones are destroyed. But the truth, like the youthful Poe himself, has its origins in the New World as well as the Old--in a bitter episode of corruption during the War of 1812.

With settings ranging from the coal-scented urban jungle of late Regency London to the stark winter landscapes of rural Gloucestershire, An Unpardonable Crime is a multilayered literary murder mystery, a historical novel, and a love story. In addition to shedding fascinating light on Edgar Allan Poe, the book is a fast-paced suspenseful read, filled with shocking revelations.
Title:An Unpardonable CrimeFormat:HardcoverProduct dimensions:496 pages, 9.66 X 6.4 X 1.41 inShipping dimensions:496 pages, 9.66 X 6.4 X 1.41 inPublished:March 31, 2004Publisher:Ingram Book Co,Language:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1401301029

ISBN - 13:9781401301026

Appropriate for ages: All ages

Look for similar items by category: