And My Father Was There: Eight home runs, one unbreakable promise.

byNoah McCaffrey

Hardcover | June 5, 2018

And My Father Was There: Eight home runs, one unbreakable promise. by Noah McCaffrey
$33.99
Earn 170 plum® points
Prices and offers may vary in store
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $35

Not available in stores

about

Life is a diamond and on it miracles happen.

THE YOUNGS have been a baseball family ever since Al Young saw "Nig" Clarke of Corsicana Oil City hit eight home runs in a single game back in 1902. It was then that Al decided he would make his living playing baseball, and he did, playing shortstop for the Boston Braves until World War I took his ability to speak and function.

His son, Laird Allen Young - a twenty-something hurler with a penchant for throwing more than the baseball - follows in his father's footsteps, becoming a pitcher for the Hartford Bees, a Boston Braves affiliate. The one thing Laird longs for more than anything else - besides one day playing for his father's former team - is to have just one conversation with his mute and unresponsive father. But after 29 years, Laird has given up hope - until one day his mother gives him an old tin tobacco box belonging to his father, its contents about to change everything.

ADVANCE READER REVIEWS:

"Such a great story "

"Has a good heart to it."

"A wonderful read...touching...as much about life as it is about baseball."

"Noah McCaffrey takes a single moment in baseball history and weaves a heartfelt story around it, one that will appeal to fathers and sons, as well as to mothers and wives."

For fans of THE ROOKIE, THE NATURAL, and FIELD OF DREAMS.

NOAH MCCAFFREY has been ghostwriting for other authors for the past fifteen years. Now he writes for himself, and his gracious readers, of course. This is the first novel under his own name. He is a member of SABR - the Society for American Baseball Research - and lives in North Carolina with his wife and dogs. He's presently at work o...
Loading
Title:And My Father Was There: Eight home runs, one unbreakable promise.Format:HardcoverProduct dimensions:284 pages, 9 X 6 X 0.75 inShipping dimensions:284 pages, 9 X 6 X 0.75 inPublished:June 5, 2018Publisher:David M AnthonyLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1732396302

ISBN - 13:9781732396302

Appropriate for ages: All ages

Look for similar items by category: