Appalachian Spring: Score

June 1, 2004|
Appalachian Spring: Score
Earn 175 plum® points
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Free shipping on orders over $35
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Find In Store
Not sold in stores
Prices and offers may vary in store


(Boosey & Hawkes Scores/Books). "Appalachian Spring" was composed in 1943-44 as a ballet for Miss Martha Graham on a commission from the Elisabeth Sprague Coolidge Foundation. It was first performed by Miss Graham and her company at the Coolidge Festival in the Library of Congress, Washington, D.C., on October 30, 1944. The original scoring called for a chamber ensemble of thirteen instruments. The present arrangement for symphony orchestra was made by the composer in the spring of 1945. It is a condensed version of the ballet, retaining all essential features but omitting those sections in which the interest is primarily choreographic. In 1945 "Appalachian Spring" received the Pulitzer Prize for music as well as the award of the Music Critics Circle of New York for the outstanding theatrical work of the season.
Title:Appalachian Spring: Score
Product dimensions:84 pages, 10.5 X 6.75 X 0.26 in
Shipping dimensions:84 pages, 10.5 X 6.75 X 0.26 in
Published:June 1, 2004
Publisher:Boosey & Hawkes
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9781480342323

Recently Viewed