Arclight

Paperback | March 25, 2014

byJosin L. Mcquein

not yet rated|write a review

A harrowing sci-fi thriller that #1 New York Times bestselling author Pittacus Lore proclaimed "Powerful and gripping." This bold and astonishing novel about identity, unnerving connections, tortured romance, and facing our worst nightmares is made for fans of Veronica Roth, Stephen King, and Justin Cronin.

The Arclight is the last refuge in a post-apocalyptic world consumed by terrifying creatures called the Fade. No one crosses the wall of light that keeps the last human survivors safe. There's nothing else left and nowhere to go. Or so they thought, until Marina, a lone teenage girl, stumbles out of the Dark.

Marina doesn't remember who she is, where she came from, or how she survived. And the Fade want her back. When one of them infiltrates the compound and recognizes Marina, she begins to unlock secrets she didn't even know she had. Marina knows she's an outsider, but she'll do anything to protect those who saved her. Whether they want her help or not.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$11.93 online
$12.50 list price
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

A harrowing sci-fi thriller that #1 New York Times bestselling author Pittacus Lore proclaimed "Powerful and gripping." This bold and astonishing novel about identity, unnerving connections, tortured romance, and facing our worst nightmares is made for fans of Veronica Roth, Stephen King, and Justin Cronin.The Arclight is the last refu...

From the Jacket

No one survives the fadeThe first rule of the Arclight is Light is safety; light is life. Within the walls of light, people are protected from the Fade—the creatures that have destroyed the world. The second rule is Never go outside alone. The third: No one ever comes back from the dark.But Marina did. She doesn't know who she is or wh...

Josin L. McQuein was born and raised in Texas. Now she and her three dogs live in a town so small that the buffalo outnumber the people. She is the author ofArclightandPremeditated.

other books by Josin L. Mcquein

Premeditated
Premeditated

Paperback|Mar 24 2015

$10.51 online$10.99list price
Meridian
Meridian

Kobo ebook|May 27 2014

$11.99

see all books by Josin L. Mcquein
Format:PaperbackDimensions:432 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.97 inPublished:March 25, 2014Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062130153

ISBN - 13:9780062130150

Customer Reviews of Arclight

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Different *A Copy Was Provided By The Publisher For Review* Light Is Safety. Light Is Life. That is the Arclight's motto. Arclight was a very interesting book, it had a different concept which is nice for the Young Adult Genre . What I liked is that this book starts off with a BANG, action happens right in the beginning of the book and I thought it set a good tone for the novel. I found the story line to be very interesting and again different, I was reading one chapter after another to find out more about this world. The characters were great if a bit flat, I thought Marina was a very strong character but showed a softer side when it was needed, Tobin and Rue were great to read about. Overall I thought this book was very interesting if a bit slow at times but I enjoyed reading it a lot. I would recommend this book to anyone that enjoys Dystopian with a twist.
Date published: 2013-05-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from High intensity read! If I’m being totally honest, it was Arclight’s gorgeous, colourful and eye catching cover that convinced me to pick it up. I had no idea what so ever what it was about. I was sold on the cover alone. But then I started reading and became just as hooked on the book’s insides as its outsides. Arclight starts on a high note. Alarms are going off, codes are being given and people are seemingly running for their lives. We don’t who they are, what they’re running from and where exactly we are in time and space. Normally this kind of beginning can feel jarring and choppy but it was just the beginning this book needed. It gives the story an incredibly high intensity level right from the get go, and it never lets up. If you liked stories that get your heart pounding and move at a consistantly fast pace, you’re going to love Arclight. Once you’re into the story and are able to get more oriented, you realize you’re reading something totally unique. This isn’t a dystopia, it isn’t science fiction. I saw someone describe it as Stephen King for teens and I think that’s about as accurate description as we’re going to get. It’s haunting and at times, more than a little creepy. The people of the Arclight are surrounded by these creatures called The Fade. They’re creatures of shadows, who have slowly, over many generations, taken over the world. They bleed black and can assimilate your body into their ‘hive’. Creepy stuff. I really enjoyed reading about a creature I had never heard of before as it added an element of surprise. How could I predict what they would do next if I knew nothing about them? The only fault I have with Arclight is that sometimes I was a little lost. This was because the world building, was at times, lacking. Everything is just SO new and different that it would be impossible to flesh it all out in one book. Josin L McQuein does a pretty good job but I still would have liked more. Sometimes it felt like the world and the characters within it were just rushing by and it was easy to get lost in the shuffle. Overall I was still able to enjoy the story but if you asked me to explain how the world got this way or exactly what the Fade are…well let’s just say I’m not the best person to ask. Recommendation: Arclight is a high intensity read that actually accomplished the challenge of being “nothing like you’ve ever read before.” It’s great for those who want to get lost in a high action, high impact read. Not so great for those who love really fleshed out speculative fiction. This and other reviews at More Than Just Magic (http://morethanjustmagic.org)
Date published: 2013-04-22

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“In a dystopian future colony that holds back the monsters that have taken over the world, a girl tries to find her place. … Marina … stands out as an interesting and spunky character, enough of a rebel to take some major chances.”