Arclight by Josin L. McqueinArclight by Josin L. Mcquein

Arclight

byJosin L. Mcquein

Paperback | March 25, 2014

Pricing and Purchase Info

$12.50

Earn 63 plum® points
Quantity:

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

A harrowing sci-fi thriller that #1 New York Times bestselling author Pittacus Lore proclaimed "Powerful and gripping." This bold and astonishing novel about identity, unnerving connections, tortured romance, and facing our worst nightmares is made for fans of Veronica Roth, Stephen King, and Justin Cronin.

The Arclight is the last refuge in a post-apocalyptic world consumed by terrifying creatures called the Fade. No one crosses the wall of light that keeps the last human survivors safe. There's nothing else left and nowhere to go. Or so they thought, until Marina, a lone teenage girl, stumbles out of the Dark.

Marina doesn't remember who she is, where she came from, or how she survived. And the Fade want her back. When one of them infiltrates the compound and recognizes Marina, she begins to unlock secrets she didn't even know she had. Marina knows she's an outsider, but she'll do anything to protect those who saved her. Whether they want her help or not.

Josin L. McQuein was born and raised in Texas. Now she and her three dogs live in a town so small that the buffalo outnumber the people. She is the author ofArclightandPremeditated.
Loading
Title:ArclightFormat:PaperbackDimensions:432 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.97 inPublished:March 25, 2014Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062130153

ISBN - 13:9780062130150

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Intriguing,Fast Paced,Mysterious. i read this a few years back. It is a fast paced mysterious novel I absolutely loved it!
Date published: 2017-05-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty good This had an interesting concept but wasn't my favorite #plumreview
Date published: 2017-03-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Weeeeeird This book was weeeeird. It was super original and twisty, and led me down so many conflicting paths, I never really knew what was going on. It was great, and a page turner, but I never really felt like I had a solid handle on what was going on - from relationships that never seemed to progress past surface interactions, to fuzzy details on what, exactly, the Fade is (is it actually a threat? I don't know.) It was engrossing and pulled me to the end, but I'm content to leave the series here - I feel like if I read the next one, I'm only going to get more confused.
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from High intensity read! If I’m being totally honest, it was Arclight’s gorgeous, colourful and eye catching cover that convinced me to pick it up. I had no idea what so ever what it was about. I was sold on the cover alone. But then I started reading and became just as hooked on the book’s insides as its outsides. Arclight starts on a high note. Alarms are going off, codes are being given and people are seemingly running for their lives. We don’t who they are, what they’re running from and where exactly we are in time and space. Normally this kind of beginning can feel jarring and choppy but it was just the beginning this book needed. It gives the story an incredibly high intensity level right from the get go, and it never lets up. If you liked stories that get your heart pounding and move at a consistantly fast pace, you’re going to love Arclight. Once you’re into the story and are able to get more oriented, you realize you’re reading something totally unique. This isn’t a dystopia, it isn’t science fiction. I saw someone describe it as Stephen King for teens and I think that’s about as accurate description as we’re going to get. It’s haunting and at times, more than a little creepy. The people of the Arclight are surrounded by these creatures called The Fade. They’re creatures of shadows, who have slowly, over many generations, taken over the world. They bleed black and can assimilate your body into their ‘hive’. Creepy stuff. I really enjoyed reading about a creature I had never heard of before as it added an element of surprise. How could I predict what they would do next if I knew nothing about them? The only fault I have with Arclight is that sometimes I was a little lost. This was because the world building, was at times, lacking. Everything is just SO new and different that it would be impossible to flesh it all out in one book. Josin L McQuein does a pretty good job but I still would have liked more. Sometimes it felt like the world and the characters within it were just rushing by and it was easy to get lost in the shuffle. Overall I was still able to enjoy the story but if you asked me to explain how the world got this way or exactly what the Fade are…well let’s just say I’m not the best person to ask. Recommendation: Arclight is a high intensity read that actually accomplished the challenge of being “nothing like you’ve ever read before.” It’s great for those who want to get lost in a high action, high impact read. Not so great for those who love really fleshed out speculative fiction. This and other reviews at More Than Just Magic (http://morethanjustmagic.org)
Date published: 2013-04-22

Editorial Reviews

“In a dystopian future colony that holds back the monsters that have taken over the world, a girl tries to find her place. … Marina … stands out as an interesting and spunky character, enough of a rebel to take some major chances.”