Aristotle's Metaphysics Lambda: Symposium Aristotelicum by Michael FredeAristotle's Metaphysics Lambda: Symposium Aristotelicum by Michael Frede

Aristotle's Metaphysics Lambda: Symposium Aristotelicum

EditorMichael Frede, David Charles

Hardcover | December 1, 2000

Pricing and Purchase Info

$227.92 online 
$307.50 list price save 25%
Earn 1,140 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


A distinguished group of scholars of ancient philosophy here presents a systematic study of the twelfth book of Aristotle's Metaphysics. Lambda, which can be regarded as a self-standing treatise on substance, has been attracting particular attention in recent years, and was chosen as the focusof the fourteenth Symposium Aristotelicum, from which this volume derives. At the Symposium, each of Lambda's ten chapters was taken in turn as the subject of a session at which a specially written paper was read to and discussed by the assembled symposiasts. (The ninth chapter commanded twosessions by dint of its particular difficulty.) The papers have been revised in the light of discussion, and are now offered to a wider audience as a discursive commentary on points of particular philosophical interest covering all of Lambda. Michael Frede's extensive Introduction aims to give abroader view of Lambda as a whole and the problems it raises, and thus to provide the context for the discussion of each of the chapters. This volume will be a resource of great value and interest for anyone working on ancient metaphysics and theology.
Michael Frede is Professor of the History of Philosophy at Oxford University, and David Charles is Fellow and Tutor in Philosophy at Oriel College, Oxford.
Title:Aristotle's Metaphysics Lambda: Symposium AristotelicumFormat:HardcoverDimensions:376 pages, 9.21 × 6.14 × 0.94 inPublished:December 1, 2000Publisher:Oxford University PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0198237642

ISBN - 13:9780198237648

Look for similar items by category:


Table of Contents

Introduction: Michael Frede; Ch. 1 Michael Frede; Ch. 2 David Charles; Ch. 3 Lindsay Judson; Ch. 4 M. Crubellier; Ch. 5 Alan Code; Ch. 6 Enrico Berti; Ch. 7 Andre Laks; Ch. 8 G.E.R. Lloyd; Ch. 9 Jacques Brunschwig; Ch. 10 Aryeh Kosman; Ch. 11 David Sedley; Bibliography; Index.