Ask Me How I Got Here by Christine HeppermannAsk Me How I Got Here by Christine Heppermann

Ask Me How I Got Here

byChristine Heppermann

Hardcover | May 3, 2016

Pricing and Purchase Info

$18.65 online 
$21.99 list price save 15%
Earn 93 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

How do you define yourself? By your friends? Your family? Your boyfriend? Your grades? Your trophies? Your choices? By a single choice? From the author of the acclaimed Poisoned Apples comes a novel in verse about a young woman and the aftermath of a life-altering decision. Fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Ellen Hopkins will find the powerful questions, the difficult truths, and the inner strength that speak to them in Ask Me How I Got Here.

Addie has always known what she was running toward, whether in cross country, in her all-girls Catholic school, or in love. Until she and her boyfriend—her sensitive, good-guy boyfriend—are careless one night, and she gets pregnant. Addie makes the difficult choice to have an abortion. And after that—even though she knows it was the right decision for her—nothing is the same. She doesn’t want anyone besides her parents and her boyfriend to know what happened; she doesn’t want to run cross country anymore; she can’t bring herself to be excited about anything. Until she reconnects with Juliana, a former teammate who’s going through her own dark places. Once again, Christine Heppermann writes with an unflinching honesty and a deep sensitivity about the complexities of being a teenager, being a woman. Her free verse poems are moving, provocative, and often full of wry humor and a sharp wit.

Title:Ask Me How I Got HereFormat:HardcoverDimensions:240 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.85 inPublished:May 3, 2016Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062387952

ISBN - 13:9780062387950

Reviews

Rated 2 out of 5 by from Just not for me This book is completely written in the form of poems. And the writing style isn't bad or anything. The plot is also not bad. I just couldn't stay interested in the book. This is the kind of book that isn't necessarily bad but will be a hit and miss depending on the person. It was a miss for me.
Date published: 2017-03-04

Editorial Reviews

“Heppermann’s poetry is beautifully composed…thought-provoking.”