Assassin's Heart

Hardcover | February 2, 2016

bySarah Ahiers

not yet rated|write a review

With shades of Game of Thrones and Romeo and Juliet, this richly imagined fantasy from debut author Sarah Ahiers is a tale of love, lies, and vengeance. Fans of Kristin Cashore and Rae Carson will devour the flawlessly crafted action and inventive world building.

Seventeen-year-old Lea Saldana is a trained assassin. She was born into one of the nine clipper Families in the kingdom of Lovero who lawfully take lives for a price. As a member of the highest-ranking clan, loyalty to Family is valued above all, but that doesn't stop Lea from getting into a secret relationship with Val Da Via, a boy from a rival clan. Despite her better judgment, Lea has fallen in love with him; but she's confident she can anticipate any threat a mile away.

Then she awakens one night to a house full of smoke. Although she narrowly escapes, she isn't able to save her Family as their home is consumed by flames. With horror, she realizes that Val and his Family are the only ones who could be responsible. Devastated over his betrayal and the loss of her clan, there's just one thing on her mind: making the Da Vias pay. The heart of this assassin craves revenge.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.37 online
$21.99 list price (save 11%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

With shades of Game of Thrones and Romeo and Juliet, this richly imagined fantasy from debut author Sarah Ahiers is a tale of love, lies, and vengeance. Fans of Kristin Cashore and Rae Carson will devour the flawlessly crafted action and inventive world building.Seventeen-year-old Lea Saldana is a trained assassin. She was born into on...

Format:HardcoverDimensions:432 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.33 inPublished:February 2, 2016Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062363786

ISBN - 13:9780062363787

Customer Reviews of Assassin's Heart

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Review from Giselle at Book Nerd Canada Nine families who are skilled in the deadly game of death. Lea is a Saldana who is the leader of all of the Families. Not until she her house is in flames and all of her family members perish. Now she must find the family responsible for this traitorous act even if it gets her killed. This world had one of the oddest religions I've ever heard, but okay authors are allowed for creative licences. I just thought it didn't make any sense. They all worship a God who gives skills to all these families. And they're allowed to murder these people on behalf of their clients who pay them and also pay the goddess a coin, so they will be rebirthed all over again. What wasn't explained was why they were allowed to do this. And what were the factors that came into murdering other people? They believed they were doing this all for their goddess of death. Then there was the random beginning of a Romeo and Juliet type of relationship which I was all for until it wasn't. I did not see how Lea could be this incredible assassin when she became so sloppy with all of her mistakes and she would brush it off because she was in the country? Um okay. It was terribly annoying. But then there was sweet and kind Alessio who is also named Les. Lea and Les, I know! Why name the two main characters such similar names? I did like how clueless she is to his charms because the first thing we notice is her relationship with her family's enemy Val. And that didn't go over very well. I didn't understand how she could justify murdering an entire family just for vengeance. I really thought she could learn from it like her uncle did, but nope. Nothing. I thought there were too many holes and not enough filling to patch them. And that to me makes a disorganized story which leaves me filled with too many questions. I'm still confused as to how some aspects of the story ended up. Especially that ending! This one had some potential to be a really great high fantasy, but I'm sad to say it lacked in execution. I can't forgive such a careless character who is supposed to be the best at her job. I just can't, I'm sorry to say you can skip this one though you'll be missing out on the sweet Alessio.
Date published: 2016-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Slow at times but worth it Seventeen year old Lea Saldana is a skilled assassin, a member of one of the nine families in the kingdom of Lovero who are paid to kill in the name of the Goddess who keeps them safe from the ghosts that roam outside their borders. Their motto has always been Family over family, your assassin Family has your loyalty over your blood family, but Lea is secretly dating Val, the son of her Family’s biggest rival, the Da Vias. When her Family is attacked, their home burned to the ground, she is the only survivor and she vows revenge. She knows the Da Vias were responsible and she will kill every last one of them – even Val. I was really excited to start this book. It had interesting mythology, a main female character who was badass, and a revenge plot that I easily got sucked into reading. I enjoyed the world-building and the relationships that developed between characters. The quest for vengeance and Lea’s journey as she dealt with feelings of guilt and anger were relatable. Lea was an interesting main character. She had no guilt about killing people, strong in her faith that she was serving her Goddess, and she had been trained to be deadly in many ways of death. That didn’t mean she was immune to feeling insecure about her position within the Family or that she couldn’t love or show a softer side. Things that seemed out of line or horrifying to me as the reader were taken in stride by her because that was just normal life for her. She had her strengths, she had her faults, she had her beliefs, and it was a journey watching her try to figure out who she was without her Family and whether or not she had value without them. I really enjoyed the whole concept of this world and all the complexity it involved, especially the politics within the Families. No one seemed to have a problem kicking Lea when she was down and that just made the stakes higher for her to find someone she could trust and get her revenge. I liked that we also got to see what it was like outside of cities that worshiped the Goddess of death, and instead chose to worship a different God or Goddess. I also liked how straightforward it all was. There didn’t seem to be characters introduced with no purpose, Lea’s moves were very calculated, everything was done with something bigger in mind and it all connected. I did find that the story dragged a bit in the middle. Lea seemed to hit a wall in her plans and that meant the story hit a bit of a wall in the action. Thankfully it didn’t drag for long and once the action picked up again, this time it didn’t stop until the end. It was a pretty quick read, even with the small part that dragged in the middle. The rest of the book made up for it, being so action focused with the need-to-know-what-happens-next feeling being strong. *I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Date published: 2016-02-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Beating a Dead Horse First I should disclaimer this with the fact that I knew exactly what I was picking up. I wanted a nice, predictable, romance fused teen novel and I got it. While the plot is extremely predictable and reflects numerous other books in the teen genre there were a few things in the book that dragged it down. Without spoiling any of the plot, I can tell you that once every 2-5 pages there is some reference to Val and his betrayal. While this may be a driving force for our seventeen-year-old heroine its shoved down your throat every other page or few pages. I thought maybe it would be an interesting concept when after time it gradually became less and faded as she dealt with it but nope! If you want a basic heartbroken teen betrayal/ love story/ predictable from start to finish book it is pretty okay but if I hear the name Val one more time I personally might implode!
Date published: 2016-02-07

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Ahiers’s Romeo and Juliet-inspired world of gods, angry ghosts, and assassins is darkly lush, and Lea’s voice is strong and pragmatic, making for a stylish and rich read.