Astoria: Astor and Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire: A Tale of Ambition and Survival on the Early American Fr by Peter Stark

Astoria: Astor and Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire: A Tale of Ambition and Survival on the Early…

byPeter Stark

Paperback | February 10, 2015

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.76 online 
$19.99
Earn 84 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Skeletons in the Zahara, Astoria is the thrilling, true-adventure tale of the 1810 Astor Expedition, an epic, now forgotten, three-year journey to forge an American empire on the Pacific Coast. Peter Stark offers a harrowing saga in which a band of explorers battled nature, starvation, and madness to establish the first American settlement in the Pacific Northwest and opened up what would become the Oregon trail, permanently altering the nation's landscape and its global standing.

Six years after Lewis and Clark's began their journey to the Pacific Northwest, two of the Eastern establishment's leading figures, John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson, turned their sights to founding a colony akin to Jamestown on the West Coast and transforming the nation into a Pacific trading power. Author and correspondent for Outside magazine Peter Stark recreates this pivotal moment in American history for the first time for modern readers, drawing on original source material to tell the amazing true story of the Astor Expedition.

Unfolding over the course of three years, from 1810 to 1813, Astoria is a tale of high adventure and incredible hardship in the wilderness and at sea. Of the more than one hundred-forty members of the two advance parties that reached the West Coast—one crossing the Rockies, the other rounding Cape Horn—nearly half perished by violence. Others went mad. Within one year, the expedition successfully established Fort Astoria, a trading post on the Columbia River. Though the colony would be short-lived, it opened provincial American eyes to the potential of the Western coast and its founders helped blaze the Oregon Trail.

About The Author

Peter Stark is the author ofThe Last Empty Spaces: A Past And Present Journey Through The Blank Spots On The American Map;Last Breath: The Limits Of Adventure; andAt The Mercy Of The River: An Exploration Of The Last African Wilderness. A correspondent forOutside, he has written forSmithsonianandThe New Yorker, among other publications...

Details & Specs

Title:Astoria: Astor and Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire: A Tale of Ambition and Survival on the Early…Format:PaperbackDimensions:400 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.93 inPublished:February 10, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062218301

ISBN - 13:9780062218308

Look for similar items by category:

Nearby Stores

We found 0 nearby stores

Customer Reviews of Astoria: Astor and Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire: A Tale of Ambition and Survival on the Early American Fr

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Astoria is a scintillating corrective to the “guts and glory” school of American history and economics. [...] Grandiose visions ... have consequences, and Peter Stark’s depiction of the body count that results from this one unfolds with the inevitability of a fine tragedy and comedic zing of a good action flick.