Asylum

by Madeleine Roux

HarperCollins | August 20, 2013 | Kobo Edition (eBook)

Asylum is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 5.

Madeleine Roux's New York Times bestselling Asylum is a thrilling and creepy photo-illustrated novel that Publishers Weekly called "a strong YA debut that reveals the enduring impact of buried trauma on a place." Featuring found photographs from real asylums and filled with chilling mystery and page-turning suspense, Asylum is a horror story that treads the line between genius and insanity, perfect for fans of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children.

For sixteen-year-old Dan Crawford, the New Hampshire College Prep program is the chance of a lifetime. Except that when Dan arrives, he finds that the usual summer housing has been closed, forcing students to stay in the crumbling Brookline Dorm—formerly a psychiatric hospital. As Dan and his new friends Abby and Jordan start exploring Brookline's twisty halls and hidden basement, they uncover disturbing secrets about what really went on here . . . secrets that link Dan and his friends to the asylum's dark past. Because Brookline was no ordinary mental hospital, and there are some secrets that refuse to stay buried.

Format: Kobo Edition (eBook)

Published: August 20, 2013

Publisher: HarperCollins

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0062220985

ISBN - 13: 9780062220981

save 0%

  • Available for download
  • Not available in stores

$11.99  ea

$11.99 List Price


See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

Downloads instantly to your kobo or other ereading device. See details

All available formats:

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from An ok read I didn't hate this book, yet I did not love it either. I loved the altered photos, the cover, the chapter pages, all beautiful. I found the story to be incredibly simple, but that not a bad thing. This is not meant to be the next great piece of literature, its meant to entertain and scare and take you away. those are where my issues came in. I found the setting wonderfully done, the building captured in words perfectly. However there were some areas that felt forced, like those passages were forced around a photo rather then finding the right photo to fit the passage. I also had difficulty connecting with the characters. I think the story just needed to be more fleshed out, a little more fully realized. Really just longer. but still a good way to spend a couple hours.
Date published: 2015-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing book! I finished this book in one day. I just couldn't put it down! I really hope there is a sequel!!
Date published: 2014-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unexpected, Yet Wonderful Discovery The setting and atmosphere of this book was amazing ! For the first several chapters I got a beautiful classic beginning to a horror/ thriller book and of course when both the suspense and, for me, the anxiety was building you're saying the whole time; "Don't look at those pictures, Don't look into the asylums past !" It was a great read and I truly recommend this to any lovers out there of creepy books like Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
Date published: 2013-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A real gem! I picked this book up by chance off the stores "recommendation" shelf and was taken back by how engrossing it was! I ended up reading it in just two sittings - and I still couldn't stop thinking about it in between that! I also enjoyed the pictures that accompanied the story, which were both strangely interesting and eerie to glimpse at between chapters. I felt strongly connected to the trio of main characters as if I were a part of their group from the very beginning, so needless to say, it was a definite page-turner for me. I'm happy I discovered this author and now to look forward to checking out some of her other books!
Date published: 2013-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 4.5 Straight Jackets! Do you like to be frightened? This book ups the Creep Factor to the nth degree! The photos are enough to keep you awake at night and make your skin crawl! I'm a horror book/movie junkie. I like to be taken to levels of horror that I've never been before. In Asylum, Madeleine Roux takes us to New Hampshire College, where the dorms named Brookline have been converted from an old asylum. That's the first creep factor. Could you imagine living in a dorm that once housed homicidal maniacs? Yup. That's creepy! Add in strange happenings and bone chilling pictures that Roux artfully weaves into the story and you're going to be reading with the lights on and cuddling your Teddy Bear! Without giving away too much of the story, I enjoyed Roux's characters and the relationships that they build. The ending was not without suspense, however I would have liked a little more information as to the motivation of the "suspect". I also felt that the Professor could have added an added element to the story and I thought she could have helped the ending a little bit. I did enjoy this book and would recommend it to readers who like a good horror. The story stands alone, but the pictures definitely help to give it the 4.5 Straight Jacket rating! Happy reading and don't forget your Teddy Bear!
Date published: 2013-08-27

– More About This Product –

Kobo eBookAsylum

Asylum

by Madeleine Roux

Format: Kobo Edition (eBook)

Published: August 20, 2013

Publisher: HarperCollins

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0062220985

ISBN - 13: 9780062220981

From the Publisher

Madeleine Roux's New York Times bestselling Asylum is a thrilling and creepy photo-illustrated novel that Publishers Weekly called "a strong YA debut that reveals the enduring impact of buried trauma on a place." Featuring found photographs from real asylums and filled with chilling mystery and page-turning suspense, Asylum is a horror story that treads the line between genius and insanity, perfect for fans of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children.

For sixteen-year-old Dan Crawford, the New Hampshire College Prep program is the chance of a lifetime. Except that when Dan arrives, he finds that the usual summer housing has been closed, forcing students to stay in the crumbling Brookline Dorm—formerly a psychiatric hospital. As Dan and his new friends Abby and Jordan start exploring Brookline's twisty halls and hidden basement, they uncover disturbing secrets about what really went on here . . . secrets that link Dan and his friends to the asylum's dark past. Because Brookline was no ordinary mental hospital, and there are some secrets that refuse to stay buried.