Atlantic: Great Sea Battles, Heroic Discoveries, Titanic Storms, and a Vast Ocean of a Million Stories by Simon WinchesterAtlantic: Great Sea Battles, Heroic Discoveries, Titanic Storms, and a Vast Ocean of a Million Stories by Simon Winchester

Atlantic: Great Sea Battles, Heroic Discoveries, Titanic Storms, and a Vast Ocean of a Million…

bySimon Winchester

Paperback | November 1, 2011

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.91 online 
$19.99 list price save 15%
Earn 85 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

"Variably genial, cautionary, lyrical, admonitory, terrifying, horrifying and inspiring…A lifetime of thought, travel, reading, imagination and memory inform this affecting account." —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Blending history and anecdote, geography and reminiscence, science and exposition, New York Times bestselling author Simon Winchester tells the breathtaking saga of the Atlantic Ocean. A gifted storyteller and consummate historian, Winchester sets the great blue sea's epic narrative against the backdrop of mankind's intellectual evolution, telling not only the story of an ocean, but the story of civilization. Fans of Winchester's Krakatoa, The Man Who Loved China, and The Professor and the Madman will love this masterful, penetrating, and resonant tale of humanity finding its way across the ocean of history.

Simon Winchester is the acclaimed author of many books, includingThe Professor and the Madman,Atlantic,The Man Who Loved China,A Crack in the Edge of the World, andKrakatoa. In 2006, Mr. Winchester was made an officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) by Her Majesty the Queen. He lives in western Massachusetts.
Loading
Title:Atlantic: Great Sea Battles, Heroic Discoveries, Titanic Storms, and a Vast Ocean of a Million…Format:PaperbackDimensions:528 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.84 inPublished:November 1, 2011Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061702625

ISBN - 13:9780061702624

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from A comprehensive story of many aspects of the Atlantic ocean. Informative, amusing and readable, a fascinating picture, historically and to date, delving into curious and breathtaking accounts of the ocean's often central place in the lives of the people living on the adjoining lands today and in the past
Date published: 2014-01-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from So-So Simon! A long love letter about his love and concern for the Atlantic Ocean from a strictly Anglo-American point of view. There were major flaws in his research citing Basque fisherman coming from the Galician coast, his ignorance of Portugal’s role in the discovery and settlement of the Atlantic world, his failure to gauge what South Americans and Africans perceived the Atlantic. It felt that he stretched a magazine article into a book. Not his best stuff but passable while vacationing somewhere in the Atlantic.
Date published: 2013-01-19

Editorial Reviews

“Winchester brings a knowledge as vast and deep as his subject to this history of the Atlantic Ocean.”